Skip to content

The baby-hoardingest birthday

Yesterday was my birthday. (Egghunt‘s too. Hey. Universe. How about you do right by my girl this year, huh? A perfect, smooth, easy-as-possible donor cycle? A thriving pregnancy? A healthy child? A little spot of motherhood? Okay. Deal.)

I turned 36. I think it might have been the best birthday ever. I’ve never enjoyed the IT’S ALL ABOUT YOU! feature of birthdays. And now that Bun Bun is here, it’s not all about me.

She had a stormy night and day on Saturday and a stormy night last night, plus what looks like it will a stormy day today (Possible tooth? Plus HEINOUS DIAPER RASH–how does it spring from nowhere like that?! She almost never has it, but when she does, it tends to be awful.) but yesterday she was sunny as can be. As I was working in the garden getting my greens planted and the soil ready for the warmer weather plants, the sun slowly came out and the day turned heavenly. The lilac even bloomed–my favorite flower.

I guess it’s no news to anyone that I’m the luckiest girl (er…creaky, busted up old lady) on earth. And I’m able to appreciate it a lot these days, now that it’s not snowing and I don’t feel like total shit all the time. But yesterday was about appreciating it intensively. Appreciating some time to myself doing things I enjoy, some time with my child and fetus (who is now moving regularly, making sure I lavish some love on him or her), even enjoying some time with my husband.

So yeah. I’m fortunate, and I know it.

2012

2011

2010

22 Comments Post a comment
  1. OMG love this series of pictures. It is just so fantastic to compare how the years have brought you great things. Happy Birthday to you and to many more fantastical birthdays!

    April 16, 2012
  2. Louisa #

    As always a lovely pedicure, happy happy birthday bunny!

    April 16, 2012
  3. SRB #

    Aw! This is the best. What is this warmish feeling in my chest?! Happy birthday, lady!

    April 16, 2012
  4. Ana #

    Happy belated birthday bunny! (yea! alliteration!) will be heading into the “late 30s” (or is it still “mid-30s” at 36?) with you quite soon. unlike you, I am ALL ABOUT the “all-about-me” aspect of birthdays, so I think mine have declined in quality since children insist on everything being all-about-them-all-the-time. I’m very glad you had a nice day:)

    April 16, 2012
  5. Oak #

    Happy birthday bunny!!! I love your photo progression. It’s fantastic, just like you.

    April 16, 2012
  6. Happy happy happy birthday baby hoarder! I love those pictures and I’m glad that such a wealth of beautiful tiny humans is being dumped on somebody who clearly knows how to appreciate it!

    April 16, 2012
    • Speaking of a wealth of beautiful tiny humans, what’s up in your world? Do I have to e-mail you to get updates or WHAT? Hope all is well.

      April 16, 2012
      • Yes. All is well! Between busted computer and no computer, I have been M.I.A. for a while, though. 36+ weeks and still no complications here. It’s almost enough to initiate an identity crisis of sorts. Even my friends don’t recognize me. When my computer was down and I didn’t respond to a friends’ email, she called and told me that she was sure something had happened and that I was in the hospital.

        BUT everything is great and I feel exactly like you do – pretty damn fortunate! And more updates to come…

        April 18, 2012
  7. I love these three pics – oh how life has changed! Happy birthday!!!

    April 16, 2012
  8. Happy Birthday baby hoarder…em I mean Bunny! I’m also impressed with your nail painting skills. Happy Birthday you lucky gal!

    April 16, 2012
  9. Rhianna #

    Happy, warm birthday wishes, friend. πŸ™‚

    April 16, 2012
  10. What an awesome photo progression!! Happy belated birthday. πŸ™‚

    April 16, 2012
  11. twoblueshoes #

    Are you shitting me? Snap! Happy birthday to you, lady! (Nice pins, by the way.)

    April 16, 2012
  12. Happy birthday, Bunny πŸ™‚

    Love love love the photos. I remember when you posted the first one. πŸ™‚

    April 17, 2012
  13. lady pumpkin #

    Happy Belated, Bunny! Love those pictures. What a blessed birthday indeed.

    April 17, 2012
  14. Jen #

    Happy birthday to Bunny, who has so many babies it’s not funny! She’s a world-class baby hoarder, hope her birthday was sunny! (Ran out of lyrical steam at the end there.)

    April 17, 2012
  15. I ❀ the annual birthday picture on the quilt. Your toes are truly delightful, darling. This year, I also really appreciate the ex-utero Bun Bun and in-utero Bunlet action (although wiggling is not seen, but reported).
    Happy Birthday, lucky girl. Sounds like you are soaking it all up and I love it! After all, this IS your one wild and precious life.

    April 17, 2012
  16. I somehow missed this post…
    Happy birthday, Bunny! Exquisite pictures. πŸ™‚ Lovely BunBun. And yay for wiggling Bunlet!

    April 18, 2012
  17. Conceptionally Challenged #

    Happy belated birthday, Bunny! Your picture series makes me so happy for you — and hopeful. Maybe, one day… and hey, I still have a few years until I turn 36 πŸ˜‰

    April 19, 2012
  18. Love the photo progression. I know it’s cliche, but what a HUGE change a year brings. Wow.

    April 23, 2012
  19. Oh a very late birthday song from your Misfit pal! I love the progressions of birthdays in the backyard as well. I am quite jealous of the skinny ankles with pedicure. Darling!

    I also remember that first backyard photo and remember those high hopes I had for you back then. It pleases me greatly to see a near toddler pawing on you and a healthy bump cooking in the glorious sunlight.

    Happy, happy birthday Bunny and a song full of many, many light and love filled birthdays to come!

    April 25, 2012
  20. Happy birthday, Bunny! (Very belatedly…it seems I have become an absolutely shit commenter lately).

    I love this progression of photos. Love it.

    April 27, 2012

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

