Skip to content

Weaned

That vibration you feel is my lower lip trembling. The day before her birthday was the last time I nursed my wee Bun. We were down to just the morning session, and she was becoming less interested in eating, and more interested in CHEWING ON ME WITH HER TWO LITTLE TEETH. I swear, she’d get this diabolical look in her eye, a look of sort of gleeful delight, and then…nom. So I stopped, and she didn’t care a bit. In the end I got some of the comfort of knowing she was choosing to be done with it…except for the fact that she’s still getting multiple bottles of formula a day. So that comfort is false. But hey, it’s still comforting.

Anyhow, now that she’s a big grown up baby, I figure I have to do that thing where I get her to drink cow milk instead of formula. I confess I’m not sure how that thing works. I know, I know, I could read some books, but you KNOW how confusing and contradictory information from BOOKS is. Plus they’d find a way to make me feel terrible, because I’m still supposed to be breastfeeding, or because my child will only eat fruit (though yesterday she ate, like, FOUR HANDFULS of tomato risotto). I could also ask my pediatrician, but I have no reason to think he’s going to give me information that’s more medically sound than the information you’ll give me, because this is not really a medical question, is it?

SO, people of the internet, how does this thing work?

[In case it’s helpful: She eats three meals a day, though by this I mean that I put a balanced(ish) meal in front of her thrice a day, and she throws a lot of it on the floor, particularly at dinner, and she gets three bottles, two four ounces and a two ounce. I gave her cow milk in a sippy cup a few days ago and she let it dribble out of her mouth with an extremely comical look of horror. I am also working on transitioning her from a sippy cup to a doidy cup, so my hope is that these two things can go together.]

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. No personal experience yet, but I have a friend who recently went through this with her twin boys. At first, they refused regular milk, but she slowly transitioned them to milk by mixing it with the formula. At first, just a tiny bit of milk, but slowly increasing the amount of milk, and decreasing the formula. After about a month, they were drinking only milk. Also, I had never heard of a doidy cup – had to look that one up. Thanks, oh wise woman of the internet!

    May 10, 2012
  2. I never had trouble with getting either of mine off the bottle, but I apparently suck at getting them onto cow’s milk. My son just went off milk altogether. My daughter took cow’s milk from her doidy for awhile, and then lost interest. I keep meaning to try and get her drinking it again, but honestly, all their dairy comes from cheese and yoghurt these days. Or *cringe* flavoured milk, which my son discovered from his friends at school.

    Basically my advice is to keep trying to establish this good habit. Don’t make my mistake!

    May 10, 2012
  3. We started Jack on cow milk at 10 months. Don’t panic! the doc told us we could start the transition and if he didn’t have any reactions to it, we could phase him completely into it. So we started by doing 1/3 cow milk and 2/3 breastmilk. Then slowly increased the amount until he was drinking full cow milk bottles. I want to say it was a few weeks of mixing before we did full cow milk. So maybe mix it with formula and transition slow. Also Jack will not drink cow milk from a sippy cup for some reason. I was thinking it would be a good transition too. Cow milk and sippy cup at the same time, but I think it actually needs to happen one at a time for us. So if you find the same, don’t panic. She might not be refusing the milk so much as the cup.
    Jack will now take a bit of cow milk in his sippy, but mostly only water in his sippy and milk in a bottle. We’ll get there.

    I do not miss the biting or the pre-biting look. Jack would give me this ‘what are you gonna do?’ look and then yeeeoouch. Then I would say ‘No!’ and he would cry. It wasn’t a happy experience for anyone and breastfeeding for me was all about happiness, so I definitely don’t miss that aspect. Also now Jack is straight up biting people….I should post about this. Le sigh. So I am glad my boobs are out of the equation.

    Welcome to the useless tit club! Although yours will be useful again in a little while.

    May 10, 2012
  4. Wow — she is a light eater (Oh wait, it’s probably b/c I have a HUMONGOUS baby) — B was at16-20 oz of formula plus 3 meals at 1 year.

    Anyway, re: cow’s milk: we just handed him a 4 oz bottle. He drank it, and that was that. He got formula at bedtime until we were out (that stuff is too expensive to waste), so for a week or so he got both, and then we have been on cow’s milk only since 53-54 weeks. And while he still gets an 8 oz bottle at night, he now gets his other 6-10 oz of milk during the day from a straw cup. Since he is fascinated by dumping stuff out, only leakproof cups are allowed in our house (although like the doidy cup!).

    In terms of the floor throwing, I find that if I put too much in front of B at any given time, it goes onto the floor, but if I pace it out (4-5 blueberries, vs 15-20), he just mushes it/ throws it. I’m pretty sure he eats neither more nor less bc of that method, since he still squooshes the food when he is done.

    May 10, 2012
    • I meant to say if I DON’T pace it out he throws it.

      May 10, 2012
      • It’s good advice. I pace it, and she throws it anyway. But at least in smaller quantities. Because before I paced it (probably at your suggestion) she’d manage to throw a PRODIGIOUS quantity on the floor before I could get in there and rescue it. There’s nothing like a baby who don’t want something!

        May 10, 2012
  5. ASP #

    Heeeeey! We mixed O’s moo milk with formula for the first week or so and then we just started giving it to her by itself. It was a pretty easy peasy transition for us. Not sure about the Doidy cup…Olivia makes a huuuuuge wet mess when she drinks out of a regular cup. We did recently order these (http://www.amazon.com/Philips-AVENT-Natural-Drinking-Green/dp/B006GYLL8Y) after using one at a friend’s house, they haven’t come yet, so I’ll keep you posted on how they work. They do leak water everywhere, just not as much as a regular cup. Olivia won’t drink milk out of her regular ol’ sippies, she likes to drink her milk out of her soft nipple Avent cups. These things: http://www.amazon.com/NUK-Learner-Silicone-Single-Colors/dp/B002UXQRLG/ref=sr_1_1?s=baby-products&ie=UTF8&qid=1336672837&sr=1-1
    Maybe play around with different sippies and sometimes we do warm Olivia’s milk and she usually likes it better like that. Oh, these finicky babies! 🙂 Good luck with everything!

    May 10, 2012
    • Heeeey yourself, miss “I have a real journal now so I don’t need you bitches”. I hope all is well with you guys!

      May 10, 2012
  6. Nicole #

    P gets one bottle after I nurse her before bed. I have been slowly (ok not that slowly) changing the ratio of formula to milk. So I make a 2 oz bottle of formula and then add 2 oz of milk. Then I did 1 oz formula and 3 oz milk.I am trying to run out this can of formula I have which will be done pretty soon. P is eating like a little piggy. She ate 5 YES FIVE regular sized raviolis one day at lunch and then yesterday 3/4 of a full sized tuna sandwich. WHAHHHHHHT!

    Oh yeah and I am getting bit daily. IT sucks! The other day I was sure she bit off my nipple. Can’t seem to get her to stop.

    May 10, 2012
  7. Jenny F. Scientist, PhD #

    Bug was largely indifferent to cow milk. Plus I’m allergic so it’s not like I could drink the leftovers. This may be why he’ll only drink soy milk now…

    May 10, 2012
  8. Oak #

    Huh. You know what, I didn’t even realize this was something I should have thought about. At about 11 months we started mixing formula (devil’s work) and cow’s milk and by a year he was 100% cows milk without issue.

    As far as feeding, for about a month we would give him some in a sippy cup just to make up for the missing bottle feeds but for the most part his four meals a day (one snack added in) were a-ok. Only caveat, he hangs out and has a sippy cup of milk on our laps before bed.

    One thing my ped said (and I”m not sure if this is because Mac’s enormous) was that we can give him whatever milk we drink in our house…which is skim. No reason to buy whole milk for him.

    May 11, 2012
  9. I have no real advice on this topic. I’ve always heard that it’s best to make a mix of it – cow and formula/breast so she can get used to it slowly.

    I’m sorry, too, but the thought of the comical look of horror made me laugh out loud.

    Good luck!

    May 11, 2012
  10. We also started out mixing formula and cow milk. And then just cow milk. From a bottle, because anything else gets at least half on the floor (any recipient must be thoroughly shaken, otherwise it’s useless). Now he gets most dairy from yoghurt and a bottle of milk when he does not eat all that well before nap or night time. He does not ask for it, as he does with other things, but he certainly does not refuse it. Good luck!

    May 11, 2012
  11. we’ve just started the transition. we’re doing what it seems most others have done – mixing the formula with the milk. we started with 2/3 formula and 1/3 milk and now we’re at 1/3 formul and 2/3 milk. next stop? all milk! he still gets it in a bottle and we offer him milk with lunch and dinner from a sippy cup (this is the one that works best for him – no spills! http://www.toysrus.ca/product/index.jsp?productId=4110177). Our biggest problem is he would only take his formula heated and to continue to get him to drink milk, he’s going to want it heated… and we don’t want to have to do that all the time. So we’re trying to figure out how to get him to drink milk cold. we’d also like to get rid of the bottles and have him drink his milk straight from the sippy cup. so we’re still figuring a lot of shit out over here. and … half his food is on the floor too. i figure since he’s 1 and almost 24lbs, i shouldn’t worry about all this too much … but i still do.

    May 11, 2012
  12. We never mixed. I just started giving him milk in a sippy at mealtimes, and he eventually took to it. He has a bottle of formula every once in a while (now 15 months old). Like if he’s sick or overtired and off his feed.

    May 12, 2012
  13. Hard as it was, I bet your battered boobs are thanking you for the weaning:) And I’ve taken notes about the transition from all of the wise women above.

    May 15, 2012

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

