Skip to content

Reflections with pie charts, phase 2.

Time to sum up the amazing experience of parenthood with PIE CHARTS again. You may recall that before Bun Bun was born we predicted which aspects of life with baby would be hard. We compared our predictions to our actual findings at six months, and hey, we weren’t too far off. We also did predictions for the next six months.

And the envelope please…

Predicted

So. We thought that the big issues would be the fact that she could move around a ton more (everyone said it would be hard having to chase her), teething, and me having to go back to work. This was when I was still weeping at the thought of leaving my child, and also before we decided to hire a nanny and I was still visualizing what it would be like to drop her off at a yet-to-be determined daycare. And here are the actual results.

Actual

We weren’t totally wrong. I think if we’d done daycare the prediction would have been more accurate. Having someone come to us is a luxury on many fronts–for example, it means there’s far less rushing around in the mornings and evenings. As it is, it was painful at first, and then totally fine. So that left some space to be taken up by increased mobility (It IS hard, because it means less sitting on my ass, and more leaping up to snatch a baby from the jaws of death. But of course, it’s lovely, too, seeing her crawl and toddle…) and teething (The only really rough patch we’ve had since sleep training was the month in which her two little toothlets ever so slowly emerged. Good thing babies only have two teeth, so no more of THAT to worry about.)

Why am I sharing this fascinating information with you? I have no notion why. Really, it’s for my own future rumination, I suppose. The only way it could be of use to anyone is if she had exactly the same baby, and if that’s the case, how come I’m having to do all the childcare? Where the hell are YOU? And could you do a load of diapers, like, EVER?

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh my goodness, you crack me up. I love your charts, and only wish that I would have done the same thing. It’s amazing how our perspectives change over this first year. I went back and read your previous post and this one – love it!!!

    June 8, 2012
  2. Oh! pie charts. They are beautiful, Bunny! I deeply appreciate the empiricism with which you tackle key parts of life. Once again, I am in awe of you.
    I wonder what the next predictions will be like: what makes life with a newborn and a toddler difficult? Oh, you can probably come up with something.
    I look forward to the semi-annual virtual poster presentation.

    June 8, 2012
    • Precisely! I’m planning to do those predictions shortly before Bunlet is born…

      June 8, 2012
  3. Oak #

    I love that you guys do this. I think its awesome…you forgot to add “gestating baby while chasing baby” as a category though. Just sayin’. Oh and not to be the bearer of doom but molars are like the devil’s creation…brace yourself.

    June 8, 2012
  4. SRB #

    I pretty much love anything you can end with “…that’s just math and/or science.”

    I very much look forward to the before and after Bunlet pie charts. Now THAT should be interesting.

    June 8, 2012
  5. George got his four molars within roughly a month. And they were less troublesome than cuspids, for some reason (they are supposed to be sharp, how can they hurt more than blunt molars?!). But anyway, it’s good to have your expectations met. Can hardly wait for the next set of pie charts, the ones with newborn and toddler.

    June 8, 2012
  6. I pretty much love the pie charts. 🙂 It’s fun to compare what you’ve felt vs. what we’ve experienced.

    June 8, 2012
  7. Well, I’d be happy to come over and chase Bunlet and do loads of washing any time. I would love to follow this up with loads of vodka cocktails and a good talk with Bunny, except Bunny can’t drink right now.

    June 9, 2012
    • Ah, but you live in the future, and in the future I CAN drink. Sounds heavenly!

      June 9, 2012
  8. Totally agree….babies only get two teeth! Let’s keep it that way since they can nosh on anything with those two sharp as daggers pearls and clearly suffered enough getting those two. Fake teeth are all there these days anyway.

    Funny that we didn’t rate mobility over here. You are correct though. It keeps us from sitting on our asses.

    I love your pies Buny!

    June 9, 2012
    • Clearly I do not proof read or spell check!

      June 9, 2012
  9. I love this soooo much.

    June 10, 2012
  10. I was glad to see this post. I remember both your prediction pie chart AND your reality one. And as we are on the cusp of full mobility ourselves, it’s interesting to see this one (though, I will admit to hoping that “increased mobility” would be far more of a breeze than anticipated?).

    June 11, 2012
  11. cracking my shit up as ever. I definitely appreciate a good pie chart. I am going to need the statistical data that backs up this pie though. It is just an arbitrary pie without any numbers…..i feel so lost….help….hehehe. Glad you got those two teeth out of the way. We are holding at 6. I think that is plenty. so we’re done now.

    June 11, 2012
  12. Misfit Mrs. #

    I love me some pie. Data pie a la mode is my absolute favorite! I’m only wishing that I’d done this myself with the expectations of a newborn. Oi!

    June 11, 2012
  13. Maggie #

    I love these charts. Such a great idea and a wonderful way to gain some perspective. Just love it!

    June 15, 2012

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

