Skip to content

The pitter patter of…rejected food hitting the floor.

This spring, I planted a collard green plant in the middle of the garden. Why? Because Bun Bun enjoyed stewed collard greens. As autumn sets in, that same collard plant–untouched save for a plague of caterpillars that I dutifully battled to the death*–has come to symbolize just how few fucking things my child will eat anymore.

Yeah, I know, I’m in really good company. Even as I was thinking about venting, a nice post showed up on the same subject. I really liked the organization of it, so I’m going to duplicate some of it. It seems like there are already other people writing about the same topic right now, so while this is not part of any organized thing (you know how I hate organized THINGS), here goes.

Philosophy
Ellyn Satter’s Child of Mine, as discussed here. We eat meals together, she gets food at specific times of day, and only when seated at the table, I decide what, she decides how much and whether. The logic behind this book still works to keep me sane when Bun Bun rejects ALL THE FOOD, but it doesn’t prevent me from feeling like I need to keep searching for things she will eat, because she keeps dropping things from her list.

Brief History
We stared solids at five months, and there are days when I’m convinced if I’d just waited till six months, she wouldn’t be picky. We did baby led weaning, and everything was wonderful. She ate everything and I was all, Pshaw, what is this picky eating thing? Not in my superior specimen of humanity! Over the next six months she got progressively more likely to reject things. She was still nursing at one year, but I was supplementing with formula because of the life sucking fetus in my uterus. At one year we started mixing cow’s milk with her formula and quickly transitioned to all cow, which she will drink plenty of, but only if warm and in a bottle.** She eats with her hands, though I occasionally spoon feed her things if I’m in a hurry, and I also let her practice with the spoon when I’m not in a hurry, and she’s not bad! She still eats in her diaper because of the mess that results from eating with her hands. She has ditched the food hat. She’s okay at drinking from an open cup, and I’ve replaced the sippy cups with straw cups. I am a hippie who won’t give her processed foods or sugar, though my husband will give her processed foods, oh yes, the bastard. Also note that she has only 3.25 teeth.

The Food Pyramid
Carbs: Will eat: Oatmeal (I make hers simple, but check out this great recipe for Heavily Doctored Oatmeal), bread (whole grain, as that’s what we eat), rice cakes, most forms of pancake (so eats a lot of pancakes with vegetables in them), flour tortillas, english muffins. Won’t eat: Pasta, rice, lots of other things I’m forgetting about because I’m so depressed.
Plants: Will eat: Almost any fruit, including kiwi berries. Corn on the cob. Cucumbers, which I think are nutritionally void. Won’t eat: Most vegetables, including greens of all kinds, tubers, peas, you know, everything.
Dairy: Will eat: Warm milk in a bottle, smoothies. We eat all full-fat products in our house. Won’t eat: All forms of cheese except cream cheese on toast. Yogurt if not in a smoothie.
Protein: I’m vegetarian and don’t cook meat, but Mr. Bunny sometimes does. Will eat: veggie dogs, almond butter on bread. Won’t eat: meat, poultry, eggs, tofu, legumes of any kind. Haven’t tried fish.

A Typical Day
Breakfast – oatmeal with raisins, or toast with cream cheese, fruit.

Lunch – pancakes (I typically make up large batches and freeze them. Sweet potato served with applesauce are a favorite, she also eats other kinds like cheese and corn, garbanzo bean and pea, provided there’s ketchup. I put a blob on the table, she dips bits in.) Fruit. I used to give her a lot of leftovers, but if she rejected it at dinner, she usually rejected it at lunch. Plus, since I’m generally eating leftovers, I can offer her some and she can turn her little nose up at them.

Dinner – Fruit, plus whatever we’re having. We are lucky in that we eat together as a family because we’re both home early enough, so no need to prepare anything special. This is where she gets exposed to exotic things like enchiladas made with green chile imported specially from my native New Mexico, saag paneer, latkes, lentil salad with spinach, goat cheese, and cherry tomatoes from the garden, home-made pizza, beautiful, marvelous, REAL FOOD. She almost always rejects it these days.

Snacks – Two per day. Something small, carb+dairy. A bottle of milk or some smoothie, plus a slice of bread with almond butter and unsweetened fruit spread, or some fruit, or half an english muffin with butter and honey.

Current Challenges

1. This kind of says it all. WON’T EAT: pasta, rice, vegetables, cheese, yogurt, meat, eggs, tofu, legumes. And when I say won’t eat, I mean I present her with them regularly and she regularly rejects them. Most of these are things she used to eat happily, and now won’t touch.

2. I feel like I spend a lot of time and effort trying to come up with things she’ll eat in order to ensure she has a varied, nutritious diet. My husband, meanwhile, gives her the same boring shit over and over, or reverts to convenience items like veggie dogs, annies mac and cheese, or dry cheerios. I guess I just want him to suffer as well. Or maybe to fucking HELP.

3. Every week I go to the grocery store and am inspired by all the beautiful food. I think I could make X for her! Or Y! I bet she’d love Z! And then I think about what will happen. She will cringe away in horror like she does, gingerly push X, Y, or Z to the floor, and with it, my money, my time, my energy, and my beating heart. All of which will be swept up and thrown away. And it’s not that I just assume the worst and don’t try. Every few weeks I’ll have some spare energy and decide to try a bunch of new things. And the above scenario occurs. It’s exhausting and SAD.

Anyway, if you read all of this, chances are you’ve got a toddler as well, so if you have any tips, do share. In return, I’ll share my recipe for pancakes. The recipe sans sweet potato, sugar, and spices can be used as a base for whatever other tasty things your child would enjoy not eating. I’m going to try spinach and cheese this week.

Sweet potato pancakes for Baby Bunnies

1 cup flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tbsp. sugar, OR NOT.
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
pinch ground cloves
2/3 cup cooked, mashed sweet potatoes
2 tbsp. butter, melted
1 egg, beaten
1 1/4 cups milk

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, sugar and spices.
In a separate bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients until smooth.
Combine the two, make pancakes. I make them fairly small, then when they’re cool, I wrap two or three (the number she’ll eat) in plastic wrap, put ’em all in a bag, and stick it in the freezer.

 

 

*I won.

**Remember when I tried to change her mind on that one? I lost that battle completely. She just refused milk in any form other than bottle, and went on with her day. Turns out you can’t condition an animal if it doesn’t care about the reward. You know, if you’re like Hey rat, why don’t you push this red lever instead of the blue one in order to get your food pellet? and the rat is like Fuck you and your bullshit food pellet, what are you supposed to do…other than introducing so-called negative rewards, otherwise known as child abuse.

37 Comments Post a comment
  1. No toddler yet, but toddlerhood is creeping up on us with alarming speed, and when last week I finally discovered a food Gwen won’t eat (oatmeal…which I detest, and thus never make for myself, so I’m willing to give her the benefit of the doubt that I simply ruined it with my horrible oatmeal cooking skills, so maybe we’ll try it again some day when Dad wakes up in time for her breakfast and can just make his own morning batch slightly bigger), I’ve had to face the reality that the odds of her continuing to be as unfussy an eater as she is are probably limited.

    But those sweet potato pancakes? Sound like heaven.

    September 17, 2012
    • I hate oatmeal too! And sweet potatoes. But those pancakes are in fact fully edible by adults.

      September 17, 2012
  2. Bunny, welcome. The club of Eating is a Battle is proud to name you a member now.
    Yes, what the what fuckity fuck happens with super enthusiastic children who eat everything and then they turn into little skinny ungrateful brats who turn their little noses to everything and their mother? Literally?! I vacillate between worry and anger evey meal time.
    George wanted nothing but cereals all the time, all days, for three weeks, until that changed and now he can actually throw them up if any of the darned cheerios make it down his throat.
    What I find that works for him at the present time is:
    – letting him eat by himself with utensils. Using the baby knife is very en vogue. Leading to a lot of cut up food. Not much actually ingested, but more than none.
    – asking for his help. I hold him, I stir the food cooking on the stove, I taste it and give him to taste it, we both mmmmmm our way to the table, I get my hopes up, he puckers up the lips, start chanting the no-no-no and wags the pointer at me. Adorable and infuriating at the same time.
    – leaving him to his devices. He comes and watches me eat (making me feel mother of the year) and then he pokes my salad and steals my food. And eats it! I would pay their weight in gold if someone could understand how this works and predict which food is next on the menu.
    As you can see, not much help.
    I cannot wait to see what the doctor tells me about his development. I talked to him in principle, without George present, and he thinks he might be tall and skinny – but no one in our family is tall and skinny! Anyway, still have to wait till next week.
    Best of luck to you, Bunny. This phase apparently lasts a fucking while…

    September 17, 2012
  3. Oy. I am no help as my eldest did not eat anything resembling human food until she was older than Bun (those pesky allergies) and then would eat ANYTHING put in front of her (so that meant no dairy, soy, wheat, egg, nut, fish, strawberries, and I’m sure I’m forgetting other stuff). But when she was about three she would only eat alphabet soup for dinner.

    I think probably don’t fight her as you will lose but keep looking for stealthy ways to get nutrition in her. You can put almost anything in a smoothie or a pancake, right?

    September 17, 2012
  4. CJ #

    Do you have a mandolin? I use that and every veggie looks like a chip. I cook it in grapeseed oil so it kinda tastes like a veggie chip.

    Other than that, I am no help. Some days A eats, some days the dogs eats more than any of us. HIs eating habits are becoming my eating disorder.

    September 17, 2012
    • I do! Though I fear it. So sharp! But this is a cool idea!

      September 17, 2012
  5. SRB #

    OH MAN! I forgot about hiding shit in pancakes! I also hide shit in pancakes! I will be trying this pancake recipe for sure. Other than being insanely jealous that Bun will eat FRUIT in it’s natural, non-blended state, I feel you. Particularly Challenge #2. ESPECIALLY Challenge #2, last line.

    I really, really have to just keep trying to power through and BELIEVE it is a phase. And not cry. Or get angry. Or angry cry. It is a daily challenge.

    One of the things that I forgot to include in my post, but that my ped. doc (who I lurrrvvvve) told me was to shoot for a balanced *week* rather than a balanced *meal*. And when I got all “But! But!” she told me to “Just relax” and I knew she was probably right and didn’t stab her.

    It is slowly getting better, especially when the three of us sit down together and/or we share what is on our plates and put it onto his so he is convinced it is THE SAME. Offering frequent “snacks” (the nibble tray) has really helped too (at least to ease my mind), and maybe Bun would go for it?

    September 17, 2012
    • A friend of mine who is a ped told me the same thing about a balanced week, so I mainly don’t trip about nutrition. It’s the rejection of beautiful food that hurts me, man. And yeah, I will definitely die when she finally gets around to rejecting fruit.

      September 17, 2012
  6. Jen #

    Meat was the last thing we got Jackson to eat. We just routinely offered it and he routinely rejected it, and eventually he got curious and tried it. He still sometimes chews and spits meat. I’m guessing the amount of work required to thoroughly chew up meat is just annoying to a baby/toddler. We have the same ongoing saga with veg — hit or miss, depends on the day/week/phase of the moon/etc. Like Mina, we’ve found that letting him use utensils helps a lot — even though it’s messy, it gives him some autonomy which he seems to like. Of course, all things considered, I have no earthly idea why he eats what he eats when he eats it, but we try (as you do) to just put the food in front of him and hope he eats it.

    September 17, 2012
  7. Hey, thanks for the mention. 🙂

    At the mere sight of the words “sweet potato pancakes” I was like “pleaseposttherecipe, pleaseposttherecipe, pleaseposttherecipe.” And tah-duh, recipe posted. Telepathy works. THANKS. I can’t believe I’ve never made pancakes for the kids. Love the idea of going savory with it using cheese and spinach too.

    I am so sorry you’re on this ride with Bun Bun. Maybe give fish a try… my girls love salmon (which means absolutely nothing because they eat everything and don’t I feel like a jerk about it now) – the flaky soft texture is easy for them to eat (they don’t have any molars yet either). I usually do a homemade marinade so it’s got more flavor. Also, have you tried hummus yet? My genuine hope for you (and all those suffering this horrible infliction of the Non-Eating Toddler) is that this is just a phase that will pass, and pass quickly.

    September 17, 2012
  8. Damn. I have an increasingly picky ten month old and you give me NO HOPE. She won’t take my milk in anything but a bottle. Now I’m left to think cow’s milk will the same. With food, our only bright spot is that she doesn’t reject the same food consistently, but we’re left trying to come up with a gazillion different acceptable foods a day. It’s exhausting. And my husband’s idea of a solution? More sugar. Husbands. I feel you.

    September 18, 2012
  9. No pasta.? Damn. There go all my pesto-inspired suggestions. Moose has sort of gotten less picky lately; its just that he’ll eat whatever is on my plate (but not his). Maddening for sure . I try to remember that British girl who was in the news a couple years ago because she has eaten only chicken nuggets for, like, ovrr a decade or something. She’s actually fine.

    September 18, 2012
  10. nicole #

    Here are a couple of ideas 1.give her a fork. A small one but she will probably like it and do better than with a spoon and things she can spear with it. 2. Try sneaking foods into muffins, zuchinni, spinach, carrots etc. My older girl HATES meat. Little one 17 months is erratic. Other day she ate an entire stalk of celery with bluecheese dressing. Homemade blue very strong. Wtf wouldnt eate the nuggets. try some full flavor stuff you dont think she would like.

    September 18, 2012
  11. I guess you should add psychic to your list of occupations as you knew before hand we’d all ask you for the pancake recipe in desperation for our own toddlers to get some veggies in. Sometimes I also worry about dehydration as he rejects both the food and the damn water. Have any recipes for that?

    Food throwing here started about a month ago. I did buy him a kid sized fork and spoon and he really wants to do it himself, but as you say this takes time. Some days he loves bananas some days hates. Eggplant he had an affinity for in front of the in-laws, 3 weeks later he turns his nose up. Same with tomato basil salad. I know how frustrating it is. I spend time with my farm share trying to get creative and it ends up being a waste. Instead he takes an organic veggie fruit pouch and sucks it down. Somedays when I’m super down it hurts my feelings. Some days all of the wasting annoys me.

    Oh and the bottle thing. Here too. He only takes the bottle at night and refuses any of his faux milk during the day and via any other vehicle. So my new ped said it’s fine and she isn’t worried that he’s going to start kindergarten with a bottle hanging out of his mouth. So I stopped worrying about it.

    Thanks for sharing the great pancake idea. Never in a million years would I have thought of that.

    September 18, 2012
  12. wish I could help and I wish I had answers for you Bunny. I wish I could come to your place at mealtimes, your dinners sound delish! I always find discovering what other households eat for dinner quite amazing cause we all get set in our routines (don’t we? or is that just me?) and cook basically the same things week to week so it feels like opening up a whole new world when I hear the differnt things others manage to dish up. So there you go, absolutely no advice or help from me and I just managed to waste 45 seconds of your life by making you read my garble. xx

    September 18, 2012
  13. quintain #

    Here is my secret: Although I provide my kids (ages 2 & 3) with a variety of food, I make sure to spend very little time or effort trying to come up with things they’ll eat.

    Instead, I keep three basic goals in mind: to make things (A) *I* like to eat; (B) requiring minimal preparation and (C) minimal clean-up.

    The results are somewhat varied. The two-year-old eats everything (spicy cabbage with red peppers, onion and tofu! garlic naan! homemade pizza with pears and blue cheese!) The three-year-old rejects, well, pretty much everything.

    However, I’m reasonably happy, because, in any event, I’m able to meet my goals (none of which, you’ll notice, involve the kids actually eating the food).

    September 18, 2012
    • Hey, some garlic naan got thrown on the floor today! This seems very wise. I feel like this is where I started and now I’ve gotten very far from this place. I mean why the hell am I not just offering her some of whatever I’m having? I don’t know, man.

      September 18, 2012
  14. would I be an asshole if I said: Well, at least she’s eating? I think I would probably be an asshole, so scratch that.
    It sounds like other mamas are impressed that she eats fruit. So, take heart (and pride). This toddler eating thing sounds like a big deal, which is supported by the length of the comments on this post. Please don’t pull out all of your beautiful hair over this. It sounds to me, as unqualitfied as I am to give my opinion, that she is eating some really good things. Like things that are food (would you like to deal with a kid who has pica?). If she rejects the spinach-cheese pancake, can you fedex it over here please.
    Seriously, thank you for this post. Mr. A and I were talking about our eating philosophy vis-a-vis the gummy and how we were going to be those people who insist on feeding the kid kale everyday starting at a tender age. I think instead of turning into a nazi, I’ll read the book you recommend.

    September 18, 2012
    • I think you’re right–she’s eating. And somehow despite not wanting to get all worked up about it, here I am, worked up. All she needs is carbs and plants, and she eats carbs and plants! STOP CARING, SELF!

      It does my heart so much good to read you planning what to feed the gummy. YES, KALE! Do it! Be a kale nazi!

      September 19, 2012
      • Mr. A proposes the kale-stuffed kale with kale sauce. yum!

        September 21, 2012
  15. There was a food-throwing age at our house too. And a full year where Bug suddenly rejected all veg. And milk. What happened to kids before chewable vitamins, I want to know. (Our kids, once they have >2 teeth, i.e. not Tatoe, get what we’re having too. And then… eat the bread. Yeah, thanks, kid.)

    P.S. Smitten Kitchen has a fab zucchini pancake recipe! Bug eats it and everything! Even with 1/4 the sugar and whole wheat. Would link, but, nursing = one hand.

    September 18, 2012
  16. Having absolutely no experience in such matters, I thought I would add my two cents. 🙂

    My friend told me that her baby ate lentils, which was quite surprising to me at the time. Not so surprising really, when you consider that she was referring to lentil dhal, which is very mushy. Wonder if Bun Bun would like?

    No doubt you have tried that already so I will go with Egghunt’s comment, and say that I hope I didn’t waste 45 seconds of your life by reading this.

    September 18, 2012
  17. Alas, our going-on-four-year-old is still pretty picky. But he no longer throws food on the floor, which is a huge improvement.
    I’m with quintain on the idea of putting less effort in. BunBun will get enough to eat, whatever you give her. So the easiest way to reduce stress on you is to worry less about it. She will have plenty of time to explore all sorts of exotic food as she gets older.
    I also remember there being one “cheat” that Sattler allows to her rule about only putting out what you’re having for dinner–whole grean bread. I notice that’s on the list of things BunBun will eat. So can you just toss her a slice of bread along with whatever you’re having for dinner?
    One other totally random suggestion: might she eat veggies if they were served frozen? As a toddler one of Tadpole’s favorite foods was “cold peas” (frozen peas right out of the freezer)

    September 19, 2012
  18. My daughter is right around Bun Bun’s age and she too has started to reject all veggies and many other things she used to eat. (We also did BLW.) One tip I have is that she likes to practice with her fork, so sometimes if I spear previously rejected food with her little toddler fork (and then let her pick it up) she will take a few bites that way. Another thing she loves that is great for incorporating some more protein is homemade Larabars. I used these 2 recipes and you can make up your own from there. I haven’t yet figured out how to incorporate veggies into these, but there is probably a way.

    http://www.wellsphere.com/healthy-cooking-article/homemade-lara-type-bars-energy-bars-part-3/191669
    http://ohsheglows.com/2008/12/08/homemade-banana-bread-larabars/

    September 19, 2012
    • Clearly I should have read the other comments as the fork thing has been mentioned.

      September 19, 2012
      • I’m pretty tired, so hearing it multiple times is helpful…

        September 19, 2012
  19. My daughter’s eat-anything days lasted a couple of months longer than Bun-bun’s, but she’s definitely flipped into fussy-mode. The likes and dislikes are different, but otherwise, this post is exactly right. I should probably do my own food post sometime.

    The advice from my doctor is not to make a battle out of eating because you will lose.

    By this point, we’ve kind of got into our routine of what happens when you don’t eat your food. I have a mantra that “Every time food is wasted, somebody goes hungry.” And in our house, it’s whoever wasted the food. If you leave your meal, you get nothing until the next meal. I’m pretty sure my daughter has grasped this concept, but that doesn’t stop her being outraged when her brother gets a yoghurt after dinner and she doesn’t.

    One thing we haven’t done with my daughter, but we did to limited success with my son was to always have one thing on his plate that we knew he would eat. We would serve him what we had, plus a side of some crackers or something. We found that if he started eating something, he was more likely to try what else was on his plate.

    September 19, 2012
  20. “Fuck you and your bullshit food pellet” is the funniest thing I have read in a long time. I think I may start using it whenever something is not right.

    Computer freezes up? “Fuck you and your bullshit food pellet!”

    Can’t get to work because there’s a tree blocking the road? “Fuck you and your bullshit food pellet!”

    Neighbor’s dog won’t stop barking? “Fuck you and your bullshit food pellet!”

    As always I have zero advice about the rejected food, but I can tell you that my many and various nieces and nephews have gone through this, and none of them have yet wasted away to nothing, and the ones that have come out the other side eat lots and lots of different things. I don’t know if that’s encouraging or if it just inspires a “fuck you and your bullshit food-eating nieces and nephews,” but I thought I would put it out there.

    September 20, 2012
  21. Rhianna #

    If it weren’t for thrown/rejected food, my dog would never eat. Seriously, I am terrible about remembering to feed him. He doesn’t seem to be suffering, if that tells you anything.

    So, Arlo is a really varied eater, but also a really inconsistent one, too. Tonight he had sauteed broccoli, eggplant, and asparagus over quinoa with a peanut lime sauce. And some roasted beets with fresh basil and sheep’s milk cheese. Ate it like a boss. Tomorrow I could fix the same exact thing, and he’d probably throw it on the floor, and my dog would live to see another day.

    I swore I’d never hide food inside of other food. I used to think it was a sneaky, distrusting thing to do. I mean, I want him to ENJOY eating his veggies. I want him to know and understand what he’s eating. And then he had an issue with iron (which I later learned was no real issue at all and was the janky interpretation of a podunk pediatrician in a town I am grateful to no longer live in) and I started putting all kinds of crazy shit in his smoothies. I roll my eyes at myself for my previously held beliefs.

    Anyway, I echo what lots of others have said: support her growing sense of autonomy by giving her utensils to use, don’t take her rejection personally, and look at the nutrition across the week instead of the day, etc. Only unique thing I have to offer is this: repeatedly offer those foods she’s rejected in the past. I read somewhere that it takes a ridiculous amount of repeated exposure (can’t remember the reported average of times, but it was a frustrating and shocking amount)before a kid will try something. This has been true of our experience. Just keep on offering–don’t give up.

    September 21, 2012
    • I certainly do continue offering, but what I like about this formulation of the suggestion is the idea that I am accomplishing something by offering. Like, each rejection of delicious scrambled eggs with chives is getting me closer to someday maybe having her eat them again.

      September 21, 2012
  22. Us too. The kid who ate everything suddenly became the kid who ate yoghurt and pasta and FRUIT and nothing else. Mostly I go with ‘at least he’s eating’ and try not to get crazy about it. I have no real advice, except for the one tactic that seems to work here… just walk away. As soon as I stop dancing around with the spoon trying to convince him how great whatever it is is and do something on the other side of the kitchen, he digs right in and helps himself. Contrary as a mofo.

    September 21, 2012
  23. twangy #

    Ah, I forgot to type the comment which was in my head: how can I break into the bunnies’ house and take up residence under the table where I could feast like a king on Bun Bun’s rejects. I’m vegetarian too! It’s meant to be.

    Sorry not to be not of more help. Or any help, indeed! I do sympathise, I hate it when people don’t eat AND love my cooking. And there you are being a really good parent making such good things! Bun Bun will come round, surely. In time.

    September 21, 2012
  24. Ok, I know you’ve already gotten a lot of wonderful advice, but here’s my two cents for what it’s worth. My son is 2.5 years old (single tear) and we have dealt with this for a while now. My biggest advice is to relax and let it unfold as it is. Over the last 2 years of solids we have been through many ups and downs in the food department. Our challenges have been fruits and veggies and meat of any variety (though I do have to say fish can be a god send, seems much easier for little teeth to tear apart). It can be frustrating and awful, and as a parent of course you worry. Sometimes I feel like all he ever eats are peanut butter “swamiches” (do you love his pronunciation?) and mac and cheese. We rely heavily on organic fruit/veggie pouches, too. In the end, he continues to grow and get scary smart, and the pediatrician just smiles and tells me he’s fine. Bun bun will be too. By the way, your dedication to try so many healthy and varied foods, and your creativity in sneaking healthy things into stuff like pancakes, pretty much blows my mind, so rock on! Bun bun (and Bunlet) are lucky to have you!

    September 22, 2012
  25. First, I’m glad you posted that recipe. I was actually warming up to asking you to post/send it. And then there it was. Serendipity.

    Nothing takes the wind out of my sails faster than spending a lot of time preparing something that O either won’t eat or takes one bite of and spits out. (And he’s just BEGINNING the picky phase). Lots of good advice above. I’m going to take some of it.

    September 27, 2012
  26. I admit I skimmed this one, because all mention of toddlers and food makes me nauseated with anxiety, remembering our own situation. Short version: I am relieved to hear even BunBun, who has always seemed so much more adventurous than the Bean, is going through some of this. You may be relieved to know that her diet seems positively broad from my perspective. EVERY fruit? Not just App! App! all the day and night?

    Anyway, I told the Bean’s doctor about our household, and she said, “could be worse.” So there’s that.

    September 28, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The pitter patter of…rejected food hitting the floor. | glumbunny: Vege Bun ~ Vege Food on Vege Bun, Vegetarian Bun, Veggie Bun, Vegan Bun, Vege Life Products, Vege Baking Buns, Vege Pastry Buns

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

