Skip to content

The discombobulated Halloween

Halloween was rescheduled. I’m a little affronted that my city believes it has the power to reschedule my favorite holiday just because of power losses and giant downed trees, but it was also fitting. My Halloween got wrapped up in a stupid bout of MATERNAL GUILT and general distractionation.

Last year, Mr. Bunny requested a pumpkin costume for Bun Bun, and I carefully and lovingly made it. This year, we dithered and dithered before deciding Bun Bun should be a sheep. She appears to like sheep and has been saying BAAAA! adorably for months, and hey, I can bang out a sheep costume in no time. And then it seemed like Bunlet should be something thematically appropriate, so we dithered and dithered (a ball of yarn? I did a prototype, but it looked more like a corduroy baseball…sigh) but part of me didn’t want his costume to be based on hers because isn’t he an independent entity?!?! so inspiration did not come, until finally time was so short that I was like what the fuck can I make with what I’ve got lying around and two hours?!?! so I decided WOLF. I had a tiny scrap of grey fleece and did what I could, but I could have done so much better if I’d started earlier. And obviously it’s only because my life is easy and luxurious that I have time to make costumes at all, but, you know, blah. And then the MASTITIS got me, and I wasn’t even able to enjoy the trick or treating. (Hey, it’s just as awful as it seemed when reading about it. The inflamed, miserable breast is bad enough, but the body aches and chills are extremely debilitating. Fingers crossed that the antibiotics actually work in a permanent way.)

Anyway, my little wolf and sheep, whom no amount of maternal guilt can make not cute.

Yeah, she hates the hat.

At least while I was dithering over what their costumes should be I finally made the giant snake to put in our tree. He’s stuffed with paper. I like him.

***

Also, for my own records, because I know you’re not interested in these minutiae…

Remember how magic was going to happen and Bun Bun was going to sleep on a floor bed instead of her crib? Well, magic happened. Magic first required me to pressure my husband until he agreed to just fucking do it already instead of waiting for the perfect, distant, vaguely latery time. I was antsy because a) we’re traveling for Thanksgiving and I wanted her to be more flexible about sleeping arrangements before then, and b) I’d been told that there’s sometimes a window where they don’t realize they have the power to depart the bed, and my gut told me it was closing. (The window. My guts are nicely closed and not pustulent.) We started with naps. She cried for about thirty seconds when I put her down, but slept fine, and it did not appear to occur to her that she could leave the bed and tear shit up. A week later we took the crib out of her room and that night I put her down in her BED. I admit to being anxious, and we had a whole ten-point plan for what to do if she cried for hours, or tried to get out of the room, or ran around in the dark bumping into things and hurting herself… But she went down with nary a peep, slept all night, woke up at her usual time, talked to herself until it was time for me to get her, and was still in her bed when I came in. Magic.

The same night, Bunlet moved from the in-bed co-sleeper to the crib, which we placed at the foot of our bed. Even though he’s only a yard or so away, I miss him. But he was overflowing the co-sleeper to the point where it was getting comical.

AND…he’s starting to find his THUMB, my friends. He’s not into pacifiers, and loves to suck, so it will be a real mercy to my pinky fingers when he manages to switch over to his own appendages. He just now put himself back to sleep by finding his thumb, which has allowed me to write this extremely interesting shit!

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. – The costumes are ADORABLE, and the snake is awesome.

    – How old is BunBun, a little past 2, right? Because we had a wonderful long period with Gwen where she was basically immobile while she slept, and so traveling was easy, I could make up a bed of blankets on the floor and she’d sleep no problem. Not so much nowadays — we *need* that pack’n’play, which we don’t have, and so much rely on borrowing or having available at hotels. I would *love* to be able to take the side of her crib down, so that she gets used to sleeping without being wholly enclosed, to make traveling easier. However, I suspect that that won’t be possible for a few more months.

    – And, oh, my I don’t know how you lasted so long letting him suck your pinky. The 1 week mark when we were allowed to introduce the pacifier was a glorious day. (Though I have sometimes wished she’d suck her thumb instead, since it cannot be chucked out of the crib and end up underneath it at night, I decided I’d rather have a sucking-thing that could be taken away when the time came rather than one that couldn’t, seeing as I sucked my finger until I was 7).

    – Teh Mastitis, it sucks.

    November 5, 2012
    • She’s 18 months today! And you’re pretty much my hero when it comes to traveling with a baby.

      November 5, 2012
      • Oh my, 2 under 2 — you’re *my* hero! That just sounds so crazy making.

        November 7, 2012
  2. Oh my goodness those are some cute babies you’ve got.

    I am so sorry about the mastitis. Sounds horrible.

    Will you come to my house and make Tiny Boy sleep? You seem to be good at that sort of thing.

    November 5, 2012
  3. I am in awe of your skills. Fabulous costumes. Seriously. And that snake, wow!
    I envy you on that sleeping first born thing. But not on the travel with a toddler and an infant thing. I hope you live to tell the tale. ๐Ÿ™‚ Seriously, do tell how it goes.

    November 5, 2012
  4. Jenny F. Scientist, PhD #

    The mastitis, it really sucks. Here’s to better living through lots and lots of chemistry.

    November 5, 2012
  5. Oak #

    You made your costumes. Shit. Now I feel even worse about making my kids dress up as humans in $15 internet costumes inevitably made from synthetic fibers by children in sweat shops!

    I love them both, those photos are priceless and I love how there’s no masking life in Chez Bunny. Its quite similar to life around here actual, minus the snake in a tree anyways. Which is also freaking cool.

    November 5, 2012
  6. Jen #

    We are not nearly so brave about the independent free-range sleeping yet, although that is the practice for naps at school (with the peer pressure of a dozen other kids doing the same, mind you). Jackson is too much of a wild man, I fear. When he demonstrated how to climb out of his crib a few weeks ago, I dropped the mattress to the floor atop another hastily purchased mattress to lower him from a climbable height. I just can’t deal with free-range wild-man Jackson and a newborn coming any day (tonight? please universe? I’m uncomfortable!).

    And the costumes! Lurvely. Jackson wouldn’t wear one this year (stubborn phase) and trick or treated as “ennui.”

    November 5, 2012
  7. SRB #

    Ugh. Mastitis is a slice of the old Dick pie…sorry! It’s the fucking worst.

    Please make Bun Bun wear that hat all winter, for it is adorable. Her magical transition to floor bed is giving me ideas…at least to take the rail off HGB’s crib and put on the shorty bed rail. Hmm. I think he KNOWS he can tear shit up though…hmmmmmm. Related: what in-bed co-sleeper do you have?

    Awesome snake. ๐Ÿ™‚

    November 6, 2012
  8. You are my sewing goddess hero! The costumes are adorable and the kiddos in them even more so. Beauties. Truly. Like you didn’t know this already.

    Glad to hear floor bed is working out so well. I don’t trustBee enough. We’ve been reading a lot of “Good Dog Carl” and I’m afraid he’ll take to a ride in the laundry chute if left out of the crib environment.

    November 6, 2012
  9. So much cuteness! I especially like Bunlet’s facial expression–he’s clearly a wolf that is Too Cool for Skool. I’m way impressed that you found time for so much craftiness while keeping two little ones fed/dressed/alive.
    And that’s fabulous news about all of the sleeping. And the not running-around-instead-of-sleeping.

    November 6, 2012
  10. Well, I’m glad to read that your gut is doing well, both intestines and intuition. You apparently really need that (intuition, but also sturdy intestines) as a parent apparently. The MAGIC is really astonishing. I’m glad she has taken merily to her floor bed (<3 floor beds).
    Your Buns are beyond adorable in their Halloween costumes. Oh my. You are a wiz with the sewing machine, Bunny. And the snake is probably the best decoration on your block.
    Hope those antibiotics are doing their job well and ridding you of the mastitis. That shit sounds awful. Take good care, dear woman.

    November 6, 2012
  11. Ana #

    Sorry about the mastitis. Ugh. Double ugh. Hope anibiotics kick in asap. Your sewing skills? Mad! I am so impressed. and I LOOOOVEEE the expressions on both of their faces. Priceless!!! I also feel bad about buying my $15 sweatshop costumes. Maybe next year I’ll sew them some…HA, I couldn’t even finish without laughing out loud.

    November 6, 2012
  12. I am another person to now feel crazy maternal guilt that I did not make my children’s costumes! Though considering how my son refused to wear anything resembling a costume, I don’t feel too upset that I didn’t spend hours slaving over something he ultimately rejected…

    Sorry to hear about the Mastitis… Never experienced it myself, heard nothing but BADBADBAD from those who have. Hope you’re well on the mend.

    And oh, isn’t thumb-sucking glorious? My son was a pacifier baby, my daughter not at all. Then she found her thumb around two months, mastered the art of getting it in her mouth consistently by three and it was miraculous! I did worry about the habit becoming a problem, since as Aryanhwy pointed out, you can get rid of a pacifier. What I did was to gently pull her thumb out of her mouth if I thought she was sucking on it automatically rather than to soothe. If she put it back in, I’d leave it, but a lot of the time, she wouldn’t do.

    Nowadays, she sucks her thumb exclusively for soothing: when she’s put into bed, when she’s cuddling me as she calms down from a tantrum…. occasionally, when she’s tired she’ll cuddle up to me and suck her thumb too. She doesn’t walk around with her thumb in her mouth, and I’m satisfied with that. It’s not a *habit*. I don’t know if there will come a point when I want her to stop doing it as a self-soothe… I’m kind of assuming that eventually she’ll teach herself how to fall asleep without it… it definitely seems too early to worry about it when she’s not even two!

    November 7, 2012
  13. We don’t really have Halloween here (although the multinational confectionery companies are giving it a red hot go in the supermarkets), so can’t relate to the costume dilemma, but I’m way freaking impressed that you managed to do so much as take a photograph with the mastitis. That shit is The Worst.

    Tree Snake is GREAT! I kind of wish we did have Halloween so I could put a giant reptile out the front of our place. (Would have to insulate him against the possums, though, who would bust open his belly and fling paper into the powerlines with abandon.)

    November 15, 2012
  14. Twangy #

    It is sweet indeed to see them in costume, hat-intolerance notwithstanding The sheep one reminds me of my pajama case when I was a child, which I called Lamby, being a bit literal-minded. (Why reach for a name? He already has one: LAMBY.) You lined the ears with velour, bunny! You are flipping brilliant, you are.

    November 15, 2012

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

