Skip to content

Save the babies!

This may be one of those things that’s irritating to people who really want but have not yet managed to have, and also doubtless to people who don’t particularly want but are constantly being told that they should want…children, because it’s got a flavor of you can’t possibly understand unless (although, hey, what’s wrong with that? There are in fact lots of things you can’t possibly understand unless, but yes, who likes hearing that as it’s awfully dismissive), but I have to say, I’ve been surprised by the extent to which even fictional depictions (to say nothing of non-fictional ones) of horrible things happening to children now make me sick. I’ve always been more on the delicate flower side when it comes to confronting horrors, but now? Oof. When we watch movies or TV shows, I can often be found crying out SAVE THE BABIES!

I know this is a THING that happens to a lot of people when they become parents. I wonder if there’s something adaptive about not having it be there from birth, or if perhaps there’s something maladaptive about not having it be there from birth. Like would the world be a better place if everyone had it in spades?

Anyhow, this photo series brought to you by SAVE THE BABIES! Because I DO still have a sense of humor.

I mean, if you have a seven yard snake, how are you NOT going to do this?

 

What do you think, SIDS hazard?

26 Comments Post a comment
  1. myveryownwonderland #

    First..BAH! Great pictures!

    Second. We started watching the Hunger Games last night and I was so terribly uncomfortable because “OMG SAVE THE BABIES! WHAT SICK WORLD IS THIS” and I confess to being quite happy when the Nyquil kicked in and I went to bed before the actual game part started. The downside is that now I dont know what happened and Hubby is being an almighty “you shoulda stayed up/read the books” asshat. But I guess thats why God created Google. Or maybe it was Al Gore, I dunno.

    (Um. Go cold meds.)

    November 8, 2012
  2. There is no question. If you have a seven foot snake, you MUST do this. Those who would NOT be compelled to do so are either totally boring, or maybe just way better parents than us. 😉

    November 8, 2012
    • Um, not to be a stickler or anything, but I believe she said seven YARDS. Those with 7-foot snakes are only compelled to do the face-peaking-over-the-side pic. It’s the 7-yarders who curl up in a protective yet menacing manner around the young Bunlet… 😉

      November 27, 2012
  3. You know, spiders really creep me the heck out (AAAAH!) but I think your seven-foot-snake-with-baby is running a close second.

    After Bug was born I was watching an episode of Bones in which a baby comes to harm and I just turned it off. I’ve never watched the rest of it. It has to be some biological switch that flips, I swear.

    Bunlet is the cutest attacked-by-snake baby I have ever seen, and he resembles his sister strongly in these pictures!

    November 8, 2012
  4. ana #

    Yes, on all counts, including the awesome pics!

    November 8, 2012
  5. nicole #

    Haha before i got to your sids comment i was thinking. Good woman no fluff in her crib.

    November 8, 2012
  6. Joy #

    Oh the pics are fantastic. You are as always much more crafty and talented then I am. The snake made me laugh out loud in all of his photos, even in the tree. As far as saving the babies go, I can’t even think about harm coming to them let alone watch it. It actually makes me lose my breath. Before Isa was born I felt the same way about dogs. I want to save the babies AND the pets. ha

    November 8, 2012
  7. Louisa #

    Oh my gawd!! I love you– this is too awesome! Thanks for making me laugh.

    November 8, 2012
  8. WATCH FOR THE BIG SNAKE BUNLET!!!

    You are a freak, Bunny – (and in my circles, that’s the best of compliments).

    November 8, 2012
  9. Amy #

    Yep, practically mandatory! Love it.

    November 8, 2012
  10. Hilarious!

    November 8, 2012
  11. Jen #

    I don’t want to risk any spoilers, but I’ll just say I watched the most recent episode of The Walking Dead this past Sunday night and OHMYDEARSWEETGOD what a stomach churning thing to see as a full-term pregnant lady. And to then go in to labor myself a couple of days later. (I asked KB during labor if I should request Herschel to deliver the baby, but he wasn’t sure the staff would get the “joke.”)

    Also: “Get this motherfuckin’ snake out my motherfucking crib!” That is all.

    November 8, 2012
  12. SRB #

    This is *exactly* the crib bumper I have been looking for! Can you do it in houndstooth? (And frankly, I would have been disappointed had this photo series NOT happened.)

    November 9, 2012
  13. Joining in the chorus of “me too” regarding saving the babies. My brother recommended Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book to me recently, saying I’d like it. Clearly it did not strike him that the opening chapter (I won’t go into detail) might be disturbing to me. It was a great book, but I struggled with that start.

    It’s weird because before having kids, I thought protecting children in fiction was not only silly, it was tantamount to censorship. Children can come to harm in real life, so it’s important to explore that in fictional outlets.

    I still believe that actually; I just no longer want to read/watch a story like that! I did manage the Hunger Games, so teenagers aren’t included in my personal veto… yet. I wonder if after the children have grown up, I’ll switch back to having no issues with fictional children suffering?

    November 9, 2012
  14. On the contrary, cosleeping with snakes lowers SIDS risks by keeping the baby from falling too deeply into sleep because OMG SNAKE IN THE BED.

    Also, yes, I remember someone telling me this extreme baby-danger aversion thing would happen to me, and I was like, whatever, flakey, but omg, it is so true. I started watching a documentary about tigers with the Bean today (because I was tired and so it made sense to punish him by rotting his tender brain with screen time), and the introduction was like “their powerful jaws can kill enormous prey or even…a human baby,” and I don’t know what the hell they we’re thinking, because that is the last I saw of that particular documentary. And we watched a nice one about the Appalacian Trail instead. The end.

    November 9, 2012
  15. first: you are a genius. second: i always had a hard time with baby harm, fictional or otherwise, but now i seriously just can’t see/hear/read it. third: i’m curious to hear how things go with BunBun on her floor bed. Our monkeys actually really seem to love their cribs, so i’m not pushing them out, but i’m very curious about what we might be facing when that day arrives.

    November 9, 2012
  16. Misfit Mrs. #

    Look at those kicky feet! I suspect that his recurring nightmare will put him in therapy for years until you unearth this photo. Moohoowaahhaaa, Mama! Seriously love the new pet snake and expect poses at holidays, you know a seat at thanksgiving, his own slithery stocking, the works.

    I can’t even see the news without freaking out. It started during my second trimester and is like a strong Jedi mama force. The nanny in NYC story had me bawling for days. I would turn into old mother Hubbard if I was allowed.

    November 9, 2012
  17. This is great!!! And yes, saving the babies is much more important than ever!!! That – and saving the mamas. Because who would save the babies if the mamas weren’t there?

    November 10, 2012
  18. LOVE.

    And also – yes to the sudden discomfort with seeing babies in (even fictional) harm’s way. That totally took me by surprise after I had Monkey.

    When we watch things we’ve already seen, its a weird feeling to realise that before baby I was OK with that and now, not so much. Even Hubs has commented on this phenomenon so I’m not sure its even exclusive.to mamas.

    November 12, 2012
    • Gah.

      Excuse the full stop in between words… posting from my mobile while nursing and I hit submit by accident before I could remove it!

      How embarrassing.

      November 12, 2012
  19. That’s totally what I’d do if I had a snake like that!

    The “save the babies” reaction is so strange, and (at least for me) it’s certainly not something you can explain in advance. It didn’t kick in for me until about 9-10 months, but now — if I read about kids who’ve lost a parent or two, the tears come *instantly*. The poor babies! I don’t ever want that to happen to my baby!!

    November 12, 2012
  20. I love how Bunlets lets are blurry in the second picture!

    Yeah, I couldn’t watch the news for a while either. Some 40-something drug-runner would have been shot to death, and I’m near tears thinking “that’s somebody’s baby!” The age-range of “baby” has shrunk since then, but not the icy wash of fear.

    November 13, 2012
  21. Haha – Eeet ze bebeh!

    I also feel terrible for babies, child violence and tragedy is literally sickening now, where it was merely (merely) horribly upsetting before TLG. If I hear a story, then i am so capable of imagining his part and my part in it. Dreadfully sad to be imagining such horror.

    Also, high five for you and your awesome, I just threw it together at the last moment craftasticness. That snake would have taken me far too long. Ha.

    November 13, 2012
  22. It’s definitely happened to me. In spades. I used to roll my eyes at my SIL saying she couldn’t watch certain things/had to look away/etc. I used to have a cast iron stomach when it came to ficitonal violence (fictional, only). No longer.

    The snake is hilarious. But doesn’t look that fierce. It’s more of a guardian snake, isn’t it? A garden guardian snake:)

    November 14, 2012
  23. Twangy #

    Uh-oh. I already can’t bear anything where the safety of any small thing (I include animals other people consider vermin, also animated characters) is in peril. I am going to be one of those over-protective parents, I now realise, that make people like the present me roll their eyes. I might as well start writing letters to the gym teacher already. My super special snowflake is too delicate for rounders!

    November 15, 2012
  24. When I was in high school we had to a presentation on a literary theme and I was given the Appocalypse. I chose to use a portion of Terminator 2 as an intro (nuclear explosion blowing through a playground) and my teacher actually asked me to turn it off. I was shocked at the time (and still kinda am) but looking back my teacher was recently back from having a baby… so apparently that THING had also happened to her.

    And I agree: the world likely WOULD be a better place if we all had it in spades from birth…

    November 27, 2012

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

