Skip to content

Two boring practical questions about baby stuff

1. The time has come to buy a double stroller for all my many, many babies. It’s going to be a fifteen year anniversary present from Mr. Bunny’s boss, so price is no object. WOO! Anyone have experience with these: http://philandteds.com/us/Products/Push

? Or any other thoughts? I want one that is independent of carseats, that has a single push bar, and that has big wheels for our crappy sidewalks.

2. Also, I will go back to work soon. And I will write many whiney posts about all that, but for the moment, my extremely stupid question is this: Do I have to pump as often as Bunlet eats, or can I just focus on total quantity of milk? Like, if I pump once in the middle of the day, but manage to get a thousand ounces or whatever, is that fine? Or, because he eats every two hours, should I be trying to pump every two hours? Which I can’t actually do, of course. I know, I’m a moron not to know this, but hey.

27 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh, hey, one I can actually respond to!!!

    Here’s how I’ve handled pumping (and didn’t have a supply issue until very recently): LG ate every two hours, only one side. I pumped both breasts every four hours, which was basically twice at work. I thought I might explode, but given my teaching schedule that was the best I could do. I also pumped once in the morning before daycare, on one side, but she wasn’t nursing ALL FREAKING NIGHT.

    Tiny Boy nurses roughly every 1.5-2 hours (also only on one side). I’ve been pumping both breasts twice per day, generally about three hours after I last nurse him and again 3-4 hours after that. It’s tricky, because if I wait too close to pick up time there’s not enough milk actually IN the breasts and that pisses him off.

    So the short version is no, you probably can’t just pump once and maintain supply, but that might depend on how frequently he eats…

    December 20, 2012
    • I knew you’d have ideas! He eats every two hours, one side.

      December 20, 2012
      • I did the same. I pumped both sides approximately every four hours too (sometimes adjusted for class schedules). And if I had a low day I would sometimes throw in a third session. Focus on quantity and your body will adjust to days you are pumping and days you are nursing every two hours. S was the same every two hours, one side.

        December 20, 2012
  2. I will add that my breasts adjusted to my pumping schedule pretty quickly and now I can tell I *really* need to pump at those times or pretty darn close, or my milk lets down anyway.

    I have no freaking idea what I’ll do if I need to pump once I go back to work, as I won’t be able to pump more than once and also nurse him at pickup time.

    December 20, 2012
  3. Amy #

    I have nothing on the strollers, but what a FUN research project with someone else paying! Wheeee!

    I generally pump twice a day at work. Sometimes three times, but almost always twice. I have gotten away with once a few times, but then if he’s not hungry when I get him from my mom’s I have to rush home to pump. I’m terrible about keeping track of how often he nurses during the day on the weekends or days I take off (just feed him when he seems hungry), so I honestly don’t know what kind of ratio I’m skewing, but I would say twice during the day should do it….though I do usually try to pump once in the morning before going to work, too – so I have milk from two work sessions the previous day and from the morning one (don’t usually get much since he does feed several times overnight) to take to my mom’s for the day (freezer stash is no more, sadly). I have read guidelines of every three hours, but if you can do it once at home first or just feed him right before you leave the house, I think you’ll be good to go! Best of luck….

    December 20, 2012
  4. Amy #

    Oh, I just thought of something on the stroller, actually – from what I’ve read by moms of two or more, something inline is vastly more maneuverable than anything side-by-side…but your P&T link indicates you’re already headed in that direction (maybe that’s a NO DUH already?). They look pretty sweet!

    December 20, 2012
  5. 1) I don’t have one but a friend has that stroller and it’s fantastic. Also THANK YOU for not going with the shin-destroying antisocial double-wide double stroller. We haaaaates it. Because everyone in the whole states of CT and NY try to run you down with them… yeah.

    2) When I was working I pumped two or three times over about 9 hours. Needless to say, the baby ate all the time (like every 2 hours during the day) when allowed.

    December 20, 2012
  6. Proudly, I have something on strollers. I do a lot of walking and so this was a big purchase for me with a lot of research involved since I was so fond of my single uppababy stroller (their double version blows).I ended up getting a bumbleride indie twin. I love it. Our sidewalks are crap so the push bar and wheels were very important to me. It pushes like a dream. The wheels are awesome. The kids like it. Ari can see Sam so he’s content. The prob I had with the one you’ve linked to is Ari got upset when trying it out. The bottom seat is all crammed underneath for his taste. Depending on the “features” you are looking for I may have a few more suggestions since I did far too much research on the subject.

    Good luck on the pumping thing.

    December 20, 2012
  7. Hey there! All I know about that stroller is it looks fucking awesome. I have never had to buy a double stroller, but I pushed Oak’s double BOB and loved that…but I am not really an expert.

    When i first went back to work I pumped every two hours for a little while, just to let my boobs know that they weren’t “off the clock”. My midwife suggested it was best for maintaining milk supply. After a month or two though I just didn’t have the time to pump 4 times a day, so I tapered it back to twice and just made sure the quantities were the same, which they were.

    As Jack got older and drank less often…like maybe 7-10 months?….shit I can’t remember exactly – I went down to once a day.

    December 20, 2012
  8. I have no experience with double strollers, but our BOB jogger singleton has huge wheels (great for European cobblestones…) and a sturdy push bar. I’d bet their double strollers are just as good.

    But I’m afraid that if you pump once a day and get a thousand ounces, you and I can’t be friends any more, which is a shame, ’cause I was really beginning to like you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    December 20, 2012
  9. Ana #

    We have the P&T inline double. It fits all your criteria. I love having an inline, the double-wides are impossible on city streets. The wheels are great, we have the worst sidewalks ever, including a lot of cobblestone. We’ve had to replace the tires once or twice (we’ve had it for 3 years), but you can do that at a bike shop because its a real air-filled tire tube.
    The downside to the P&T is that its kind of heavy to lift and tricky to fold/unfold, but still worth it.
    Pumping…not as much as every 2 hours, not as little as once a day. I tried to keep to 4 times/day…once at home right after the AM feed, then 3 times during the work day, not necessarily evenly spaced, I tried to get a few sessions in before lunch because my supply was better in the morning and petered out by the afternoon.

    December 20, 2012
  10. My lactation lady told me: pump every three hours whenever you are away from your baby, and you will have enough to feed her for as long as you do so. That worked for me, mostly, though in some periods of lower supply I added a pumping session a few hours after her bedtime as well.

    December 20, 2012
  11. I pumped every 2 1/2 hrs in the beginning (as often as she was eating), then switched to every 4 hrs (so 2x at work) around 6-7 months when she started on solids.

    My friends all love their Double BOBs, but they’re not inline, so I’m not sure if you’d like that?

    December 20, 2012
  12. Anonymous #

    I don’t about the pumping or about that particular stroller per say but I do have a Phil and Ted clip on chair and it ROCKS. It has held up really well to frequent use for 2 years. So I think you can’t go wrong with Phil and Ted. Hope this helps you baby hoarder you ๐Ÿ˜‰

    December 20, 2012
    • Ooo, I have the clip on chair too, and I LOVE IT.

      December 20, 2012
  13. I hated my job so I pumped every 2 hours as an excuse to get away. Just do what you can. I also ended up giving myself shingles by trying to produce as much as Leah needed. Foolish me, should have just supplemented. Wouldnt have been the end of the world. (As proven by the sun making its way into the sky on the dreaded 12/21.)

    December 21, 2012
  14. Also, that stroller rocks. I have admired it at the park.

    December 21, 2012
  15. kel24 #

    Not sure why my first comment didn’t show up…but we have the City Elite Double Jogger and love it. Side by side, one bar that adjusts, multiple cup holders, magnetic pouches for keys and snacks, large storage basket, huge wheels, and extra large canopies and super easy to push. We used a Carseat adapter then took it off and just used the regular seats that reclined when our youngest was 4-5 months. They also make a Mini version.

    I didn’t pump much but when I did it was every 2-3 hrs to keep my supply up.

    December 23, 2012
    • Thanks! It did, I just have to approve them before they show up for you. You don’t find the side by side annoying to get through doors?

      December 23, 2012
      • Anonymous #

        Oops sorry lol ๐Ÿ™‚ Actually I have the one from 3 years ago and no issues with the doorway. It pretty much fits through any standard door. I also find it so much easier to push than a front to back! We have used it for my first 2 who are 15 months apart and my last who is 22 months younger than his sister (first 2 were IVF babies and after 2 losses number 3 was my much wanted surprise!)

        December 23, 2012
  16. No advice on the first. On the second, as a master pumper, I became convinced that, after awhile, I was producing the same amount whether I pumped once every three hours or once every six (though others with more knowledge might know better).

    happy happy to the Bunny family.

    December 23, 2012
  17. CMB #

    Try the Mountain Buggy Duet. It’s a side by side that is the same width as my single Mountain Buggy Terrain. Mtn Buggy is originally a NZ brand but was recently purchased by Phil and Teds. We’ve had our Terrain for nearly two years and just got the duet for our 19 month old and new baby scheduled to be born 1/10. Mtn Buggy strollers are rugged. Really easy to push, nice suspension, well made. Sort of like BOBs but nicer (and pricier). Both the single and the duet fit in the ridiculously small trunk of my 3 series BMW. Not only is the trunk small but the dealership mounted the five disc changer on the upper edge of the trunk, dead center. It intereferes with everything. They also both easily fit in my husbands Jetta wagon, with room for 1-2 of our dogs left over. Much to my surprise, the duet fits better than the single terrain. You can purchase pumpkin seat adaptors (we did), carry cot (we did), rain shields, etc. for the Duet. With my Son (who is a few days older than bun bun), the only stroller we had was our Mtn Buggy. It’s been up and down the east coast from Maine to MD. Flew to Seattle and UK. British Airways kindly damaged it and Mtn Buggy sent us a whole new frame, wheel axles, etc. Their customer service is amazing. We’ve pushed the Terrain in snow, ice, sand, mud, grass, up hill and down. It handles it all. And the Duet is built largely the same.

    What I don’t like about the 1.5 strollers like the one you linked to is one kid can’t see and for our son that would never work. He wants to see what is going on!

    If you do check out the MB Duet be sure you are looking at the Duet and not the Duo. The Duo is wider. The Duet is same width as a single. The Duet even fits thru our narrower than average 1940s doorways in our house.

    December 26, 2012
    • Thank you for this enthusiastic review! I am really worried about the “baby as luggage” approach. Who wants to be a second class sitizen. AH HA HA HA HA.

      December 26, 2012
      • CMB #

        And don’t worry, I don’t get paid by Mtn Buggy. Just wanted to give you lots of facts. Baby as luggage. Funny. Speaking of baby as pseudo luggage, we purchased the Beco carrier you recommended and have loved that thing. Our son is small 24 lbs and he still rides in it a lot at 20 mos. And we just got another for our future daughter b/c Ethan has nearly worn his out!

        January 1, 2013
  18. Rhianna #

    On pumping: same as everyone else says: as close to as frequently as Bunlet nurses right now so that you don’t jack with your supply too much. And not that you’re not capable of googling shit yourself, but here’s where I buried my nose when I returned to work and needed some pumping insight: http://kellymom.com/bf/pumpingmoms/pumping/bf-links-pumping/ (Of course, I didn’t stay at work long enough to really give you any insight on enduring pumping for the longer haul. Also, I hated pumping with an unrivaled ferocity.)

    On strollers: I struggled with the idea of tandem/in-line strollers, although there are some pretty badass ones out there. My beef with the P&T strollers has to do with that second infant seat sitting so low to the ground with zero view. It just creeped me out. BUT, the tandem stroller we *almost* went with was the Baby Jogger City Select. The seats are reversible, which is cool if that is your thing. It is spendy, but if the pricetag isn’t an issue, it’s worth considering. SRB at Little Chicken Nuggets has this (though she hasn’t installed the 2nd seat yet), and she adores it. I tried Arlo in it at a store here for scale, and I found that he didn’t have as much leg room/room to grow in it as I’d hoped, and this is why I ultimately didn’t go with it. Right next to it was the Baby Jogger City Mini Double, which is a side-by-side, but also pretty slim and able to fit through the average door without issue. I popped him in that one, and it was just right. Light. Decent wheels (not huge, but we have shiiiittty sidewalks in our STL nabe–old tree roots, etc–, and good wheels are a must). Really easy one-handed pushing/turning. And easy to collapse for travel. For a while I pestered every parent in the park with a double stroller (most of whom had the Bob Dualie) for feedback, and a lot of people liked their Bobs, but the common complaint was that it was just too heavy and bulky and cumbersome to pack up into the car by yourself. So, while everyone had it, it didn’t really get the most glowing reviews. The next most used double was the BJ City Mini Double, and everyone who had this had great things to say about it. So, that’s what I ordered. It was a good cyber Monday deal. I haven’t taken it out of the box yet, but I did fiddle with it a bit in the store. My only (slight) reservation is that the basket is kind of awkward to access, but I think I am going to sew up a cute stroller caddy for it anyway in the coming weeks.

    December 27, 2012
  19. Daniele #

    Re: the stroller, I have a friend who is a double stroller fiend and LOOVES her Britax b-ready. likes the easy bottom basket access and the ability to collapse it with the second seat still attached. You might want to check it out.

    January 2, 2013
  20. Daniele #

    RE: pumping
    In my own pumping experience, I just pumped the total ounces. I built up a good freezer stash and then did my best to only use it in emergencies-mostly for supply/demand reasons. This worked pretty well. More specifically, when I first went back to work I pumped frequently-almost as often as she ate-because that’s what it took to get the ounces. As my supply increased (from the frequent pumping) I could then cut back on the number of times pumping and just focus on the ounces. If I started to decrease my ounces, I would often increase it by paying more attention to how much water I was drinking or add another pumping for a week or two. Hope that helps!

    January 2, 2013

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

