Skip to content

The baby hoardingest Christmas

Bunlet turned four months old on Saturday. On Friday, we had the first snowstorm of the year. It was a bit pathetic and skimpy, despite Mr. Bunny’s excitement. We’re going to get a foot of snow! I need to rush out and buy all the things we’ll need if we can’t get out for a few days! Which, by the way, turns out to be BEER. Not the foods that Bun Bun needs, or, you know, laundry detergent.

Anyway, while he was buying beer I was making Bunlet’s stocking, because hey, it’s his first Christmas! Bun Bun inherited my dead father’s stocking, which I made about ten years ago. On her first Christmas my entire family was visiting, so to make it clear that it was now HER stocking, I attached her photo to it.

DSC_0029

The photo was from her first snow storm.

Busy head

As it happens, that first snow storm was the very day I found out I was maybe going to be a baby hoarder.

I never told that story because I was so stunned, and so certain that I was going to miscarry, and so filled with guilt. But hey, it’s a year later, and I didn‘t miscarry, and I think you guys have maybe forgiven me. Surely anyone who is still reading has forgiven me.

****

Saturday, December 17th. Mr. Bunny and I were doing our monthly housecleaning. It was snowing, and gorgeous, and he decided to pause in his cleaning to get us some falafel. Bun Bun got to wear her Bun Bunting for the first time, so I snapped a few photos of them. My period was a day late. Of course, it was only my third postpartum cycle, so the most likely explanation was just random variation. But on the days when we clean the house it’s traditional for us to drink many margaritas. I knew I had a ratty old pregnancy test, so I figured I might as well take it so I could drink without qualms. Qualms don’t go with margaritas. So I took it. It was one of the plus/minus-not-very-sensitive kind, and old, but of course I wasn’t pregnant, so what did it matter? I watched, I saw nothing. I felt…sheepish. What was I doing? We’d avoided my fertile window, after all. How silly to be taking a pregnancy test.

But as I carried it over to the trash, I saw…something. The world’s faintest line. My immediate reaction was sadness. I assumed it was another chemical. After all, faint line = chemical. I thought how fucking tedious it was going to be to miscarry while my family was visiting. Or maybe I’d get to not drink for their entire visit and then miscarry as soon as they left. Good times.

Mr.  Bunny came back and I showed him the test. Did you get PREGNANT? He said. We laughed. I explained that it was likely over already. He manfully suppressed his excitement. But despite the now quite snowy snow, I made him go out and get the good tests as soon as we were done cleaning. The first good test showed a strong line.

And now, a year later, I took a photo of Bunlet in that same Bun Bunting.

DSC_0014

And attached it to his brandy brand new stocking.

DSC_0028 2

(Of course the best way to end this post would be for me to be pregnant again, all turtles all the way down and so forth. Sorry to disappoint, but I just couldn’t pull that off.)

It’s been an amazing year. I am indescribably fortunate. I wish you all such good fortune. I am going to have some eggnog now.

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. That is absolutely delightful.

    But for your sanity, I’m glad your post doesn’t end in the story-appropriate way!

    Merry Christmas!

    December 24, 2012
  2. Bunny, I’m glad – very glad – that it ended this way (and not the other). Things do sometimes happen the way they should, and I find that idea very comforting. And what beautiful photos of beautiful babies, both of them.

    (As an aside: we had your Sweet Potato Pancakes for LIttle Bunnies today for an early lunch – the major gluttony starts later at my parents. They have become a favorite with Oliver and were a very nice way to start this whole Christmas shindig)

    December 24, 2012
  3. You have a beautiful family! I am so very happy for you.

    Merry Merry, my friend.

    December 24, 2012
  4. Perhaps two turtles are enough for just now. The thought of three under three makes me feel faint. And this year, I bet you could drink all the margaritas you wanted! They’re both adorable, by the way.

    December 25, 2012
    • Anonymous #

      How adorable Bun Bun and Bunlet are 🙂

      I have 3 under 3 (well almost 4, 2 1/2 and 8 months) after IVF and 2 losses. It is not easy some days but I wouldn’t change it for the world (cue 8 month old waking now to nurse!)

      From one baby hoarder to another, Merry Christmas to your lovely family 🙂

      December 25, 2012
  5. That’s a beautiful Christmas post. I’d been trying to think of something cheerful to post to celebrate the season and have failed miserably (not because my life is uncheerful–it’s just too hectic right now for me to stop and smell the brandy butter and then type about it).

    Fantastic photographs of the babies. Have a wonderful family Christmas!

    December 25, 2012
  6. Louisa #

    Thank you for sharing that lovely story!!

    December 25, 2012
  7. Aww! A lovely story, beautiful stockings and gorgeous babies!
    Also, your story about your husband running to the store reminds me of many enteratining trips to the grocery store before “big” snowstorms (i.e. more than 7 flakes) when I was growing up in North Carolina. I was always surprised at how many more people were buying beer and donuts than were getting bread and toilet paper.

    December 25, 2012
  8. It’s a Christmas miracle! (Can’t believe I’m commenting four days later and no one has said that yet. Too cheesy? I don’t care. It’s wonderful and it’s true.)

    Also, snowstorms! Eeep! Are they fun? I’ll bet they’re not always, but they sound FUN. Happy winter holidays, lady.

    December 27, 2012
  9. What a wonderful story. It’s easy to forget that sometimes pregnancy can just … happen. All surprisey-like. And also, too, for the record, are you trying to kill us with that cuteness? Two of them? In the same cute bunting? And pictures attached to their freaking stockings? That should come with a warning label, lady. Seriously, wonderful pictures, wonderful story, heart is full.

    As an aside, I love that your husband’s idea of an emergency stash is beer. My husband is constantly buying flashlights and lanterns. He is very concerned about our illumination. Maybe they should get together and take turns drinking beer and telling ghost stories with flashlights under their chins.

    December 27, 2012
  10. It’s a beautiful story. I am truly, sincerely delighted for you.
    Your very good health!

    December 27, 2012
  11. This tale brought so much Christmas joy to my heart (I know that sounds corny, but it’s true. It’s hard for me to feel that Christmas joy, so I give thanks when it happens. Thank you).

    I remember learning that you were expecting Bunlet. It was in the NYC subway with Pumpkin, who showed me your post on her phone. She was very pregnant with pumpling at the time and the Mr and I were on our way back home from our first visit with the egg distributing facility. We were worried a bit, because you thought you would miscarry, but there was something in me that said this kid would be born. Just a hunch, and glad it was true.

    Dearest Bunny, as someone who has followed your story since before you were pregnant with Bun Bun, it fills me with joy to see you hoard babies.

    December 29, 2012
  12. Jem #

    Love your story and the stockings. Babies in bin-ting are adorable. Oh and hope you can shed the baby hoarding guilt.

    January 1, 2013
  13. Misfit Mrs. #

    I wondered much about those early days. The stockings are such a sweetvstory to share that I have savored them and only now have gotten off my butt to comment. I had a thought of you as I drove throughout the bay area whilst Ministry played on our radio. Not that you liked them or listened to them, but I imagined for a second a young gloomy bunny who would become the great glum bunny one day. It brings me all kinds of joy to know that this did work out.

    January 2, 2013
  14. Ana #

    Lovely. All of it. Happy New Year to you and yours Bunny!

    January 2, 2013
  15. I hope you put some rum in your egg nog. What a great story. Jack has inherited my dead mom’s stocking….she knitted us stockings a couple of years before she died. So unfortunately Jack is now “Patty 1957″…but hopefully he won’t mind for a couple more years until I figure out how to bribe someone to make him one. Money might work for that.
    I have forgiven you for baby hoarding 😛

    January 4, 2013

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

