Skip to content

Two babies, one room.

This list of recent google searches provides some insight into how things have been going lately.

DSC_0023

I wanted to know how to pronounce Guyana. And yes, I know that including “eye” twice in my search achieves nothing.

A few bumps as I adjusted to being back at work, but still time for GEOGRAPHY. And then things got easier, settled into a nice rhythm.

A person whose parenting advice I tend to listen to once recommended that we shake things up when all is going well, as opposed to waiting until things are not going well to make a change. (Yeah, useless advice if things are never going well, but with easy babies, they sometimes are.) So we decided to execute the final phase of Operation All the Babies in One Room. Bunlet has been in the crib at the foot of our bed, and while he woke up a few times over the course of the night, he never reached the point of crying. He just rustled loudly, and sometimes escalated to full on cooing and gurgling. So I’d stopped nursing him. While I had a hard time imagining anyone sleeping through all the rustling and cooing, I just kept reminding myself of the time I was in the car with the babies and Bunlet was screaming and Bun Bun fell asleep and stayed asleep. It’s like my brother said: Babies don’t necessarily view the noises of other babies as something they should give a shit about. So the crib went into the nursery.

DSC_0043

I was anxious the first night, and missed listening to him breathe, but things went very well. If either of them has woken up, so far the other hasn’t been disturbed. And listening to them talk to themselves before we come get them in the morning is amazing, as is walking in and seeing them both. And I can’t help but think of how much the room has changed since the first photo I posted.

DSC_0031

I know there will be times when they disturb each other and no-one gets any sleep, but, at least for the moment, that’s a price I’m willing to pay to have a room FULL of babies.

22 Comments Post a comment
  1. I have had Tatoe screaming his head off right outside Bug’s door and the child doesn’t wake up. In fact, Tatoe whacking him on the feet and shouting “BUUUUGGGG!!” right next to his head doesn’t wake him up either. Kids are amazing.

    I LOVE your rug! Where is it from? (For real, I want one.)

    February 13, 2013
  2. Ana #

    Dude my baby STILL wakes up crying (and 2.5 hours before his older brother) so we don’t get the “talking to each other in the morning” thing. BUT they’ve been sharing a room for 9 months now and little guy has NEVER woken up big guy (the other way ’round, yes…little guy is a light sleeper).
    Sometimes its hard to imagine that easy babies do, in fact, exist. Just not born of my uterus, apparently

    February 13, 2013
  3. Ana #

    Also not sure why I keep saying “dude” when commenting on your blog. Something about you inspires the “dude” reaction.

    February 13, 2013
  4. Oh I remember that first picture, without any babies (well, there was a Bun Bun in utero at that point). I got a little misty seeing the room FULL of babies. And a prairie dog, And a squirrel. And some bunnies. Oh sigh. Life can be so beautiful.

    February 13, 2013
  5. Wow. Was going to write exact same post but was afraid of that whole “jinx” thing so I let you write it instead. You did a great job!
    And I too love love love listening to them in the morning before going in there. Bee who used to wake up at the sound of a burp doesn’t flinch when baby bee screams out for food now now now in the middle of the night. Also, he has given up his paci which I’m still like WTF really?! For baby he said. I plan on getting rid of those evil things from my entire house. Baby bee would rather shove his whole stinky fist in his mouth and rejects them with a passion. So in love with the room sharing. I just put Bee’s original crib stuff in the yard sale pile today and thought about how much their room has changed too. I should take a photo of the new room before it changes once again!

    February 14, 2013
    • Yay! So happy to share this experience with you!

      February 14, 2013
  6. Yay for room-sharing! It’s seriously the best thing I ever did, and I wish I’d done it as early as you.

    Also, one of the most awesome things about having two children is listening to them talk to each other. I don’t know what it is, but it makes me grin every time. I can only assume that the novelty will eventually wear off… It’s particularly cute when I can hear my son telling my daughter to go back to bed, it’s not time to get up yet.

    February 14, 2013
  7. Yay for evicted babies. I gotta do that. I gotta get a bigger house and do that. Hmmm…

    February 14, 2013
  8. Wow. That is cheering news. This is in the world where I imagine future fruit of my loins might actually be the sleeping kind. A girl can dream.

    Sorry about the pink eye (singular), but now that I remember that you are a light-colored bunny…aren’t their eyes often kind of pink?

    Lame humor brought to you by late-night commute.

    February 14, 2013
  9. You’re a brave one, you are, Bunny! And your risk taking is rewarded. 🙂
    I still have to wait for the baby to not wake up at 3-4 o’clock. He wakes up and starts gurgling and he is so loud and chirpy, it is depressing. Waking up this early should be banned by law, honestly. And I do feel like a fraud, George slept loads worse, and now I am complaining for what, early waking ups? After he sleep just fine from 7 pm till 3 am?! Easy living has made me ungrateful.

    February 14, 2013
  10. The room is just beautiful. I bet you made those curtains, didn’t you? Not to mention the whole room full of babies. How gorgeous are they? The height of gorgeousness.

    February 14, 2013
  11. That is an amazing baby-filled room. How wonderful!

    February 14, 2013
  12. Wonderful post! I had fun reading your article. You did a very good job with the room. It looks really good. My 2 little boys are also sharing rooms and I never had any problems with it so far. 🙂

    February 14, 2013
  13. We’re lucky enough to have enough room that if/when we manage to have a second baby, they could have their own room. But I wonder if there’s something to be said for putting them in the same room while they’re little in any case. I can imagine nighttime would be much less scary if you were sleeping with your brother/sister. Hmmm. You have given me something to think about!

    February 14, 2013
    • Anonymous #

      I made the mistake of giving my girls their own rooms. My little one (from about the age of 2 on) would wake up every night and come into our bed. We were not getting much sleep! Then we started room sharing and they LOVED it. And we loved it! Right down to them giggling and reading together.

      February 18, 2013
      • Aww, thank you, anon, for sharing that. It’s totally a choice in our case, but I do sometimes wonder if I’m crazy. It seems like anyone else with a choice chooses separate rooms, but to me all the babies in one place feels right.

        February 18, 2013
  14. Awww! Yay for All The Babies!

    February 15, 2013
  15. Oh wow, bunny. That change (in so little time, it seems) sure is amazing. And wonderful 🙂

    February 15, 2013
  16. Such a beautiful room in so many ways. Our girls share a room and I think they learn a lot of valuable skills that way. Like how to sleep through a screeching banshee. Or how to sing Mary had a little lamb, in rounds, at 3 in the morning. Actually that rarely happens, but what does happen all the time is hearing “sissy? Hiiiiiii sissy!” over the monitor which is pretty much the best thing ever. Kudos on making the switch!

    February 20, 2013
  17. A friend of mine has given this a shot and it all turned to shit in about twelve seconds, so it’s AWESOME to see that it’s working out for Family Bun. (I am super jealous of all that s-p-a-c-e. Poor baby #2, should s/he ever exist, would need to be comfortable sleeping in a bookshelf to share a room with the kid.)

    February 21, 2013
  18. Awww! Room full o’ babies! If we manage to have a second, I’d like them to share a room too. I don’t know why.

    February 23, 2013

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

