Skip to content

A brief break from buckets

At dinner last night Bun Bun suddenly asked:

Bun Bun has a good mama? I’m not sure where it came from, but probably something we said in passing. Mr. Bunny and I both enthusiastically said YES!!! It quickly became a game.
Bunlet has a good mama? YES!!!
Daddy has a good mama? Eh.
Mama has a good mama? YES!!! (from me) Eh. (from Mr. Bunny)
This went on for a minute or two in various orders. Then…
Mama has a good daddy?
I used to, I said. Then I started crying. The rest of the family continued the game…
Bun Bun has a good daddy? YES!!!
Bunlet has a good daddy? YES!!!!
Daddy has a good daddy? YES!!!!
…while I did a little silent weeping.

It’s common to say that grief doesn’t go away, it just gets less intrusive. But it’s always ready to come out of nowhere and punch you in the gut.

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. So sorry for the sucker punch, dear. So, so sorry.

    July 18, 2013
  2. Ain’t that the truth. Sorry you were sad xx

    July 18, 2013
  3. SRB #

    Ooooof. Yeah. I understand this too well. HGB knows who is in a picture on our wall, but not where he is. How are we going to manage that, Bunny? We just will, right? And we can tell them all about that person and keep moving through the grief that way. ((hugs))

    July 18, 2013
  4. So very true my friend. I’m sorry.

    July 18, 2013
  5. grief and its recursive patterns. I’m sorry it suckered punched you at such a sweet family moment. I’m sad that your good daddy isn’t there to meet these two little Bun wonders. sending hugs. warm Canadian ones.

    July 18, 2013
  6. Aw *hugs* It can definitely come out of nowhere.

    July 18, 2013
  7. Oh Bunny, I’m sorry. The unexpected blows are the hardest, I find.
    Sending some e-hugs your way.

    July 18, 2013
  8. Ana #

    Sorry, friend. Hugs.

    July 18, 2013
  9. Word yo. It’s amazing how many Grandma’s Jack has…except for the one that I really want to be there.

    July 18, 2013
  10. Feeling this with you. The gut doesn’t get any more resilient with time, when it comes to those unexpected moments.

    July 20, 2013
  11. I’m so sorry, Bunny. It’s so true. It never goes away, and you never know when it’s going to come out and hit you.

    July 21, 2013
  12. Oh………… I just. I get it. This short little post says so very much. So very very much. Understanding and Hugs coming your way.

    July 24, 2013
  13. Anonymous #

    Aargh, Bunny, the grief gut-punches. They are no fun at all, and worse that their bitterness comes at times that are otherwise so sweet…
    I don’t know how long it has been since your dad died, but may the punches come less often and with less force real soon.

    July 24, 2013

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

