Skip to content

On meeting internet friends

I always figured if I met one of you guys in person of course I would love YOU, but you’d be all, Huh, she seemed okay in writing, but in person she’s VERY tedious. Wow, and so misanthropic! And why on earth is she so negative about everything when she is herself so deeply lame?

Also, stupid.

And blotchy.

So when Augusta and I arranged to meet, I was anxious. I mean, she is the kindest, loveliest person ever, so I knew that she’d be polite and conceal her disappointment, but it would still be sad for me.

But then right before the visit I suddenly realized that meeting someone you are already super attached to but have never seen face to face has a familiar analogue. It’s like seeing a really old friend you haven’t met up with in forever. There’s all the shared history, but you also don’t quite know what the person is like NOW. And then I wasn’t anxious anymore. And then we met and she was amazing, and so was Gummy, who has eyelashes that are a thousand miles long and smells wonderful and is a real contender for best baby ever. And Mr. A is totally charming, and hilarious.

I don’t want to embarrass Augusta, but people, she’s soooo lovely. As you already know. But you don’t know how beautiful she is, and how funny, and how absolutely brilliant with children (I think Bun Bun would trade me for her in a second–she’s still saying Augusta will play with me? When she wakes up from her nap), which explains why she’s such an incredible, natural mother. And boy oh boy was I ever happy to see her getting to bust out her bad ass parenting skills.

Anyway, point is, this finding Your People on the internet thing? It’s for real.

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. AWESOME! So glad. I just signed up for a meetup group BTW thanks to your encouragement. And Boston awaits you any time you are welcome here!

    August 4, 2013
  2. SRB #

    I am insanely jealous. Of Augusta. I have dearly treasured hugging my internet friends in person. The best.

    August 4, 2013
    • Anonymous #

      You totally SHOULD be jealous of Augusta. Bunny is thoroughly amazing online and off.

      August 5, 2013
  3. Well, of course I assume both you and Augusta are as splendid in person as you are in my computer 🙂

    Oh, I’d love to meet up with some bloggy peeps some day!

    August 5, 2013
  4. Anonymous #

    You are brilliant, dear Bunny. And gorgeous. And an amazing mom. And not at all blotchy.
    What an awe inspiring experience to meet you and your family and find out that we are of the same tribe somehow.

    August 5, 2013
    • anonymous, shmanonymous. That was me.
      And also the reply to SRB.
      Sorry Bunny. I’m messing with your comment section.

      August 6, 2013
  5. The internet is also great for those actual real-live in-person friends, the ones you mentioned that you haven’t seen in forever. I met up with one when we were in Chicago last month, and at one point we sat and tallied up on our fingers and realized the last time we’d actually seen each other was August 2005 when she came by to pick up a bunch of furniture which we didn’t need as we were moving to Europe. We both could’ve sworn it had only be 2-3 years, not nearly 8!

    Hurrah for friends, and hurrah for the internet facilitating the finding and keeping of them.

    To be honest, I think I’d be disappointed if we met and you weren’t as misanthropic as you appear in your journal.

    August 5, 2013
  6. Yes! The internet people are good people. I have captured I mean met a quite a few and they are all exactly who you hope – except three-dimensional! And have voices and bodies and everything!

    It seems to me that you can cut through a lot of that conventional chit-chat designed to gain trust and establish history if you already read each other, and you already know and accept each other.

    I hope we meet some day, bunny. I will travel, you know.

    (She said, threateningly.)

    August 5, 2013
  7. Misfit Mrs #

    So jealous you met the best peeps. I try to lure her my way, I do. I find it funny that you both are some of my favorite Internet people and know each other in person now. It is a wonderful thing.

    August 6, 2013
  8. This sounds awesome! Now I’m jealous, of both of you. I also love the comparison of meeting good friends you haven’t seen in ages — having lived abroad for the last 7 years, that’s something I’m quite familiar with. And now I also want to come and meet you 🙂

    August 6, 2013
  9. Jealousy. Also so happy for you.

    August 6, 2013
  10. Ana #

    Ha ha, I have the same fears…of course YOU ALL are awesome in person, but me…not so much. I’d love love love to meet up with my virtual friends someday.

    August 6, 2013
  11. AW that so reminds me of how I view myself! I am glad you had a great time meeting your new IRL friend! 🙂

    August 6, 2013
  12. Jen #

    I’ve got a nice zit on my chin if you want to hang out. Let’s meet in Toledo.

    August 7, 2013
  13. Oh, that is wonderful, Bunny. I wish we could meet in person some day. I would be overcome with anxiety at the thought of your badass awesomeness, though.

    August 10, 2013

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

