Skip to content

Onelet

Last week, Bunlet turned ONE YEAR OLD. It is very hard to accept this, for reasons that I cannot articulate. Something to do with how instantly it’s happened. And how poignant and tragic it feels to imagine him not being a baby any more. And with the way that his shining little self, the amazing person he is right now, makes me not want him to change, and renders me unable to see him changing right under my nose. He’s so beautiful and perfect.

DSC_0007

The usual stuff parents go through, I think…

We got him a play kitchen, because he really enjoyed playing with his cousin’s kitchen when we were in New Mexico. He liked his very much.

DSC_0059

So did his sister.

DSC_0068

I baked him the world’s ugliest blueberry pie.

DSC_0094

DSC_0156

He refused to eat it. Naturally.

He used to be so little…

img_0260

and now he is so big!

DSC_0142

And so capable of escaping from my snorgles! As is his duty as an independent person. However hard it is for me to let him go.

22 Comments Post a comment
  1. Omigosh he is so grown up! I was actually thinking about this the other day, figuring that he must be around his first birthday by now, but this random thought did not extend to me picturing him as Not A Baby.

    Also, we have that kitchen! We got it as a present for both children for my daughter’s first Christmas, and it was one of the best purchases we ever made, almost three years later they both still play with it daily. Pro-tip: don’t go overboard on the plastic or wooden food. Buy or make felt food. It’s so much easier to play with and store.

    August 29, 2013
  2. Hooray for Bunlet! And hooray for you. 🙂

    August 29, 2013
  3. Wow. One year already?! I have to admit that seems so far away for me… But, more to the point, Happy Birthday to Bunlet! And for pie, I think taste is much more important than looks.

    August 29, 2013
  4. Aw! He is beautiful and perfect! Except for refusing that lovely pie. But I guess you all (humanity minus me) have faults.

    August 29, 2013
  5. Oh! He’s beautiful, so he is.

    I refuse to believe a year has gone by. Despite the evidence to the contrary, I don’t believe it.

    August 29, 2013
  6. Aw happy birthday Bunlet! It goes so fast!

    August 29, 2013
  7. I got a little teary reading this. That year is hectic and fleeting. Sweet onelet, Bunlet.

    August 30, 2013
  8. ana #

    Happy birthday Bunlet! (and hugs to you mama, he’ll always be your baby…)

    August 30, 2013
  9. ana #

    Oh and those pictures! How do you fight the urge to EAT HIM ALL UP he is the most precious!!!!

    August 30, 2013
  10. Look at that beautiful boy! And his birthday pie!

    Wow…how do they grow up that fast?

    August 30, 2013
  11. Happy Birthday Bunlet! Now that was a fast year, much faster than the older kids it seems. I fully agree, he is beautiful and perfect.

    Love the pie. Want some of that pie right now.

    They both look very happy and very loved.

    August 30, 2013
  12. Item: Wait a minute. Surely this can’t be happening until September or October? It can’t have been a year yet!

    Item: Soon you won’t have ALL The Babies any more, you’ll have ALL The Toddlers!

    Item: You need to post more pictures. That is one nommable Bunlet. The sticky-uppy hair, the cute round cheeks, the little mouth, the winsome eyes…NOM!

    August 30, 2013
  13. How did that happen? I remember reading along with your treatments and pregnancy with baby #1! Can’t believe your second child is so old already :p

    Also… Escaping from snorgles is why I dread the end of nursing – that’s the only time I can get my fill, and once that’s gone, what will I do???

    And the pie might be ugly but it sure looks delicious!

    August 30, 2013
  14. Awww! Happy Birthday, Bunlet! And congrats to his parents on surviving the first year! These milestones are tough.
    Also, if he doesn’t want his piece of pie, I’d be happy to take it off his hands…

    August 30, 2013
  15. Happy birthday, Bunlet! Awww, he is so very handsome. And cute. And adorable.

    August 31, 2013
  16. Oh my goodness, he is the cutest little dude. Awesome kitchen. Poor taste in pie though. Happy day!

    August 31, 2013
  17. Oh sigh. I love Bunlet.
    And how poignant this is indeed. Your baby is ONE!
    And wow, the rate of change. He looks like he’s grown so much since I saw him a month ago.
    Thanks for sharing these beautiful pics of your baby (ahem) toddler Bunnies.

    September 1, 2013
  18. Oh my lord, would you look at that face! Happy birthday, not-so-small person. What a peach. And congratulations on making it through the first year, twice!

    September 2, 2013
  19. i’m sorry for missing Onelet, i’ve been a bit out of touch recently. So much happiness of the birthdayness to that gorgeous, gorgeous child. The boys are really into singing Happy Birthday lately, so i’m going to have them sing a little one-year wish for Bunlet tonight. They don’t know it, but they’d be besties if we were neighbors, of course 🙂

    And – i second and third and affirm the congratulations to YOU on this occasion as well!

    September 3, 2013
  20. Dafucq, I missed his birthday!
    HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Bunlet!
    Hugs, Bunny. Getting older is no longer such a pest, eh? Or maybe it still is. 🙂 Anyway, your very gorgeous children are wonderful.

    September 8, 2013
  21. SRB #

    Oh! Lovely baby! Wonderful boy! I am so sorry I missed your birthday. I can hardly believe you are ONE. That is BANANAS.

    Congrats to all of you, on being awesome. 🙂

    September 9, 2013
  22. ❤ Happy Onelet!!! What a sweetheart. And yay for gdiapers. xoxo

    September 9, 2013

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

