Skip to content

SHAZAM!

Imagine a big cloud of purple smoke. And when it clears, here I am, ALIVE!

*Applause*

Sorry about the four-month gap between acts. Tell you what, FREE DRINKS FOR ALL!

So, what’s my story? Well, work. My job is probably a 40-hour a week job, and I’ve only been giving it 32 hours, so that’s required a shitload of intense and constant EFFICIENCY. I had to give up all those little moments of fucking around, which has resulted in a total inability to do anything productive during my off hours. Today is my “relaxing day,” as we’ve trained Bun Bun to call it, because we needed to help her understand why Mama is not available on Sundays (and why Daddy is not available on Saturdays), and I need to catch up on little odds and ends, and I’d feel BETTER if I did, but looking at the little, totally doable items on my to-do list gives me this feeling of DOOOOOOOM. So fuck you, chores. Imma watch bad TV and write this.

The other thing is that I’ve been doing a fair bit of thinking about some parts of my childhood that I believe have a big impact on my parenting. I feel like I owe it to my kids to do a little bit better than my mother did, but it turns out to be tremendously challenging and draining, and so, you know, I’m drained.

But these babies, oh, they are so, so worth it. Here’s Bun Bun. Her favorite book at bedtime for a while was the Sibley Guide to Birds,  and she particularly loved the owl section, so I made her a spotted owl costume for Halloween. Upon seeing it she said, Want to be a snowy owl.

But she loved it and wanted to wear it every day for weeks, which turned out to be a thing I dreamed of without even knowing it.

DSC_0097

And here’s Bunlet. He’s a western bluebird. A walking, sorta talking western bluebird. A bit grubby, in need of a haircut. He continues to be sunny and sweet, though now with a side of Wanting All the Things All the Time that can be a bit hard to take.

DSC_0220

Anyway, classes are over for the semester. I feel a small bit of weight lifting. I feel like I might be able to partially dezombiefy  before it all sets in again. ARE YOU NOT FUCKING EXCITED? Watch this space for more of my patented tedious bullshit.

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. 1. Oh my goodness those kids are cute.

    2. Been thinking of you.

    3. Welcome back.

    December 8, 2013
  2. I so knew you were there, because there is no purple smoke without a bun-fire! 🙂
    Right.
    First things first: do not cut that soft hair off. Just don’t. Listen to a mama of a blond angel, who thought giving a short haircut to her son in the beginning of summer was a good idea. IT IS NOT. The hair changes texture immediately, the babiness of your baby PAF, gone, and you will be left sad and resorting to chocolate much too often. Learn form other people’s mistakes. Trim it so the eyes are able to do what they are supposed to, see and be seen, and style the mullet somehow. But don’t cut it all the way.
    Hope you’re well, lady. Apart from drained. I believe drained is the synonim for ‘parent’, but the stupid dictionary is biased.

    December 8, 2013
  3. Welcome back! I wondered where you were, and figured it was that darned semester swallowing you.

    The costumes are perfect — and I love that there’s another little girl out there obsessed with owls!

    December 8, 2013
  4. Roccie #

    Delightful! So big.

    Welcome home. F work.

    December 9, 2013
  5. Welcome back! Your babies are adorable. And I LOVE that you continue to blog even when you haven’t done it for months. My perfectionist self feels like I should just quit if I skip a day.

    December 9, 2013
  6. Augusta19 #

    I’ll have a gin and tonic. Thank you for the free drink, Bunny.
    And also, I LOVE your patented tedious bullshit, or whatever you call it, so keep it coming. I have missed your voice on here, although have been very grateful that SOMEHOW, you found time to comment on my posts, you kind woman you.

    Mr. A’s comment when I told him Bun Bun wanted to be a snowy owl once presented with the spotted owl costume: “Oh! This is a snowy owl in its summer plumage.” (also, I completely relate to her great love of owls.)

    Those are gorgeous costumes on those beautiful children. Wowza!

    Is there time to rest now? this is hard work you’ve been doing on so many fronts. I hope you can have rest and fun and drinks and laughter with your family. And sewing. And shit tv. And whatever else your heart desires.

    December 9, 2013
  7. SRB #

    Please make me an owl costume. Please???? I’ve never wanted anything more in my life! Well, other than to kidnap that western bluebird. 🙂

    December 9, 2013
  8. Welcome back! I’ve been wondering how you guys were doing. Those costumes (and the kids in them) are adorable! And that sorting through childhood stuff sounds worthwhile but exhausting (in case you weren’t already exhausted enough….)

    December 9, 2013
  9. Ack. Love the bird costumes. Missed you. Must hear more about this so-called ‘efficiency’ thing. Ummmm…..buckets perhaps? Crap, is it that obvious that I rely on you for examples and advice? And there you were, disappearing, to like, ‘live’, your, ‘life’. Pshaw.

    December 9, 2013
  10. Ana #

    Well hello there!!! Welcome, I missed you! And yes, I want to hear about how you are managing this “efficiency” because I’m trying to do 50 hours work in 38-40 and just…failing miserably.
    And those little birds are the cutest.

    December 9, 2013
  11. Love your little birds beyond words. You have some mad costume making talent. Also, I was wondering if the giant snake was out in the lawn this year?

    My boys got jipped out of the whole costume wearing thing. I did have monkey suits for both of them however they came to see me in the hospital that night and we had a birthday cake instead.

    I can not believe how much they have grown. So beautiful.

    December 10, 2013
  12. So glad to see you back, bunny. And those costumes are awesome! Your babies (kids?) are totally adorable!
    My mom made me a strawberry costume, years and years and years back. Which, if I may say so, was pretty adorable, too.
    Looking forward to more crafting with a side of bullshit.

    December 10, 2013
  13. The young bunnies are oh so beauuutiful. Lovely, lovely costumes too. Now *I* want to be a snowy owl. Quite a reasonable request, I feel.

    Good to see you back, bunny. More of this sort of thing!

    December 10, 2013
  14. I saw your comments on my posts and immediately thought: SHE’S ALIVE! SHE’S ALIVE! And here you are. And I am glad. 🙂 Also, when did Bunlet become a full on real person? Get. Out.

    December 10, 2013
  15. APPLAUSE!!!!!

    Bunny has returned! MORE APPLAUSE!!! *Throws roses on to stage*

    It is so good to see you, my friend. As it is officially the first day of summer holidays – I have just arrived home from the last work day of the year (HURRAH!) – I will have a nice, tall, vodka with lime and soda, please. Lots of ice, it’s hot hot hot.

    Those little bunnies are so so adorable. Love the costumes 🙂

    Looking forward to the next Bunny instalment.

    December 13, 2013
  16. Well hello there, I love your birdie outfitted children! So tweet!!!!

    And hooray for classes over for the semester, I am looking forward to not working for a whole week over Christmas! Rest up.

    x

    December 16, 2013
  17. Oh my lord, those birds! I want to eat them up.

    December 21, 2013

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

