Skip to content

GRUMBLE GRUMBLE

Oh winter, just FUCK OFF ALREADY. Tired of grey skies, endless cold, snow over my fairly tall boot-tops. Tired of being sick all the time. Two babies with croup = a fuckload of croupy babies. My asshole of a husband keeps NOT getting sick, which I guess I should be grateful for. But I’m not because DAMN I want to be the healthy one.

The dishwasher has been busted for a million years and then the hot water heater stopped working and I was all AAAARGH I just want to wash my dishes without having to heat water on the stove like little fucking house on the prairie! and then when it finally worked again, I discovered that we were out of dish soap. Mr. Bunny’s going out of town this week and then when he returns his mother (I HATE YOU, REALLY NOT THAT BAD MOTHER IN LAW!) is visiting.

My extremely good children are not getting a very good mama these days. I think I’ve apologized for yelling about fifty billion times today.

DSC_0007

Another view of my closet. Also quite typical.

I keep thinking about hot summer days. I imagine walking home after a long day of extremely productive work. A cocktail of some refreshing, delicious variety will be waiting for me. And of course I’ll be in a good mood, because it’s just WINTER that’s the problem. Right?

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. This, yes! Grumble away. This time of year is the doldrums. Having to solo parent during it sucks. Dream of cocktails. Also, how cute is bun bun’s haircut? Love.

    February 11, 2014
  2. I’m sorry you hate this winter so much. And I do hope it goes and takes its croup with it. Or, alternatively, you can just send it all up to me (the winter, not the croup) because I love winter. But I don’t want to sunshine on your rainy parade, so I’ll shut up now.
    I sure hope everyone will be healthy for the remaining months of winter. And that Mr. Bunny’s time away will be short. And yeah, broken dishwasher (even if it’s fixed) + mother in-law in close succession just sounds horrid.
    Here’s to upcoming cocktails sipped in summer breezes.

    February 11, 2014
  3. Oh, yes, this winter sucks.

    And I am actually reading Laura Ingalls Wilder’s The Long Winter. It seemed appropriate…

    February 11, 2014
  4. This pretty much sums up how I feel about winter right now. We have some cold that produces headaches and sleep-deprived, insane children, plus PINKEYE, plus a bacterial infection on top of Bug’s PINKEYE, plus the discovery that he freaks the fuck out when we put eyedrops in. Can’t cold weather/illness just fuck off all ready???

    February 11, 2014
  5. Misfit Mrs #

    In California missing the latest episode in winter from hell. If one more person says, “aren’t you going to be so excited for Spring?”, I might lose my shit and hitchhike to Florida. Family or no family.

    Being sick ought to be some comfort when you can’t go outside, but why does it make it so much worse? I blame the fact that the healthy ones take shelter and you wish for nothing but a quiet place alone to contemplate hell freezing over.

    The memory of summer is too far from my thoughts. It feels like the cold will never end. I know it will, but damn if it feels like it just keeps going. I am packaging up the cold for Augusta, tho. She can have all of it!

    Stay warm. Don’t set anything useful on fire, no matter how tempting.

    February 11, 2014
  6. Your closet babies look adorable. I remember winter being exhausting. Now, here in California, we get excited when it rains…
    Hang in there. How about coffee or hot chocolate with some baileys in it?

    February 11, 2014
  7. Snow is such an utter novelty to me that I’m having trouble putting myself in your fairly tall boots. (Seriously, SNOW! The very thought gives me kid-in-candy-store type thrills.) But then, you’re right, summer is pretty great. We are swimming at the beach every second day, living in our bathers, doing our bit to keep the sunscreen companies in business… Home-made banana ice cream! Music festivals! Heaving tomato plants! And before I come off sounding like the biggest asshat in the universe, we also have washing that comes in off the line smelling like smoke because half the state is on fire. Doesn’t take no hipster filter to make photos these days come out looking bushfire brown… Yay, summer in the world’s most fire prone region!

    PS, My husband is my dishwasher, and he sounds about as reliable as your busted machine.

    PPS, Bun Bun’s hair is killer-cute. As is her top.

    February 11, 2014
  8. Absolutely it’s winter that’s the problem. Everything will be better when winter is over! I subscribe to that philosophy, and it’s not even proper winter here.

    Those are some pretty adorable children. I love the curls!

    February 11, 2014
  9. I have been grossly neglecting commenting on everyone’s blogs lately but LOOK AT THOSE TWO ADORABLE CHILDREN. I can’t get over it. And thus, my comment silence has been broken.

    I hope Spring, literally and figuratively, finds you soon.

    February 11, 2014
  10. Have you ever seen that picture floating around of the middle finger carved into a snow bank with “F winter” carved out underneath it? Pretty much sums it up. I hope you all are starting to feel better. I feel like we have had some kind of illness since the end of December. I want to open the windows and bleach everything. I’m sorry about the croup. I hope the babes are ok.

    February 11, 2014
  11. SRB #

    Goddammit. Winter can go fuck itself in the face. The snow banks on my driveway are now higher than my car and I am so fucking over I just back up without looking anymore. BECAUSE I CAN’T.

    Spring has to help. It just has to. That’s just science.

    Finally, the degree to which I am jealous of Bun Bun’s hair exceeds that which is normal for an adult woman. It’s fine.

    February 12, 2014
    • Okay, ladies, it’s easy to get the Bun Bun Style. Twist your hair around one finger, tighter and tighter. (While sucking the thumb of the other hand. Not sure why that’s important, but it IS.) Twist, twist, twist. Eventually, your finger will be trapped in a snarly knot of snarl. The blood flow will be cut off and it will become increasingly painful, plus you are TRAPPED. Cry. Ideally do this during your nap. Your mama will come running in, and frantically try to release your increasingly blue finger. Then she will give up and cut it free. Do this with different pieces of hair from different places every few days, and viola! Le Bun Bun!

      February 12, 2014
  12. It’s winter. It’s this winter. We’re all so over it. It’s fun to take a toddler out in the snow, like, twice. Not twice a week. It’s never fun to take a newborn in the snow.

    God, why isn’t it April yet?

    February 12, 2014
  13. Oh, those adorable closet children! Looks like Bun Bun is going to have the rather tall boots in the future, just like her Mama. And I think she’s going to have Our Hair.

    Seriously though, long winters are the worst. Here in Small City, we are suffering considerably, along with TwoBlueShoes. It was *only* 33 (celsius) on Monday (after a week of 39s), and my, was that refreshing. But because Small City has The World’s Most Extreme Seasons, it will soon be unpleasantly cold for seven long months.

    February 13, 2014
  14. twangy #

    Love the fringe. I presume that at some point, there will be less weather. Let’s hope so. Normally I am (annoyingly, some would say) immune to it, but this year I am thoroughly fed up.

    February 14, 2014
  15. Ana #

    OMG YES fuck off winter (well by the time I write this, winter may actually finally BE fucking off, if only for a bit (snowed 4 inches last night, but will be above freezing for the next few days!!!! hooray!!! good thing the weather forecast only goes 5 days on my phone, I don’t WANT TO KNOW what’s coming up next week)
    Finally finally we are all healthy. I didn’t realize how much being sick zapped my energy and patience until it came back when I was healthy. i thought i was just being a lazy bitch.
    In any case, hope winter and winter sickness stays well well away from all of us.

    February 18, 2014

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

