Skip to content

Thirty-eight year old toes

It’s my birthday. For the first time since starting this internet web journaly thing, I have to TEACH on my birthday. BULLSHIT. And look at this BULLSHIT weather. It’s supposed to be gorgeous on my birthday. (See previous pictures of gorgeous birthday weather here.)

DSC_0131

 

I feel oddly emotional. Not unhappy, but…tearful, maybe? Not sure what’s up with that. Maybe I’ve just got a little tantruming child within that’s pissed about the SNOW and the WORK.

I hope it’s a good year, in spite of the BULLSHIT start.

I hope to have a productive summer, workwise. And I am planning to have the best vegetable garden ever. Last year I had a state-fair-prize winning crop of…crab grass. And a few green tomatoes. This year, I will grow ALL THE VEGETABLES. You can see some bags of primo soil for my new raised bed in the back there…going to be full of healthy squash vines in a few months.

I am also going to floss my teeth every night. I can find a surprising number of excuses for not flossing my teeth. NO MORE!

Am I going to be a better person now that I’m thirty-eight? Unlikely. I’ll try, but I am who I am.

I will probably be an older version of last year’s me. But with really shiny teeth, and wallowing in heirloom tomatoes.

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. A very happy birthday, bunny! I wish you and your inner child many many good things; amongst these certainly tomatoes and “squash vines”, whatever they are.

    (Snow? How? I don’t accept it, as a student of the JB says when you give him feedback. I don’t accept it!)

    April 15, 2014
  2. ana #

    Happy Birthday Bunny! I do remember your past birthday toes, and this weather is bullshit. Hope its lovely nevertheless (remember you can claim the whole WEEK, and hopefully one of these days will be nice!)

    April 15, 2014
  3. I hope you brought cake to your class on your birthday. (I also had to teach on my birthday one year, and cake made lots of things better.)

    And what’s up with that weather?! Previous years were so gorgeous, this is just adding injury to insult.

    Nevertheless, I hope it’s a happy one, and that at least one little Bun sings you a joyful Happy Birthday (if Gwen were there, she’d certainly be happy to give a rendition!).

    April 15, 2014
  4. Happy birthday, Bunny! Good luck with growing all the vegetables with this crap weather. 🙂
    And as a fellow thirtyeighter, allow me to give you a teeth-cleaning tip: after flossing, use the tiny interdental brushes. They are the latest rage of teeth cleaning, and they will make you sparkle in the dark. Really, you will no longer need the mandatory half-yearly professional cleaning. 🙂
    I hope you had cake.

    April 15, 2014
  5. SRB #

    Awww man! As soon as I saw this picture in my reader I was like “Fuuuuccccckk NO!” That’s some bullshit right there. I can recall previous pictures from memory, so that keeps me warm and fuzzy inside.

    Many happy returns today, my lovely friend. I adore you muchly. XOXO

    April 15, 2014
  6. Happy Happy birthday!

    April 15, 2014
  7. Happy day! Here’s to the thought of warm weather to come. And brilliant teeth. With you on the excuses thing.

    April 15, 2014
  8. Happy Birthday, darling. It IS supposed to be gorgeous on your birthday. This is just a blip, in no way announcing a bullshit year. And how could it be if you’ll have a garden full of squash and heirloom tomatoes?
    much, much birthday love to you, beautiful.

    April 15, 2014
  9. Misfit Mrs #

    Bullshit weather, indeed. Happy birthday, doll. Much love from my slightly warmer spot in the winter from hell .

    April 16, 2014
  10. Here’s to an older version of last year’s you. I happen to be quite fond of her.

    April 16, 2014
  11. Well happy birthday!

    April 16, 2014
  12. Snow? But there’s supposed to be flowers!
    A very happy birthday, dear Bunny. I hope you had a good day despite these adverse conditions,and that you will have a wonderful and tomato-rich year.

    April 16, 2014
  13. Happy birthday… And you’re right. This absolutely does not belong in the birthday canon. Hope your thirty-nine year old toes get to wiggle free!

    April 16, 2014
  14. Joyeux anniversaire! That weather is bullshit! Here’s to shiny teeth and tomato-wallowing. It’s going to be a good year…
    (It’s my birthday too! Did we know this? I feel like we must have known this, but I had forgotten and am now all excited anew.)

    April 16, 2014
  15. Happy Birthday, Bunny! Hope it was a good day (despite the shitty weather) and that it’s the start of a fabulous year.

    April 18, 2014
  16. Happy (belated) birthday, Bunny! As I live in the future, all birthday wishes will be belated, obviously. 🙂 I thought of you on April 15.

    I have seen your toes every year for the past several years, and like Twangy, I do NOT accept snow on your birthday. Or WORK. Working on your birthday is most definitely not accepted. However, living in the future as I do, I can assure you that the snow is just a slight blip on the weather radar, and that you will in fact have the best summer weather ever, with state-fair winning heirloom tomatoes.

    Wishing you all the best for the year ahead,
    xo
    A

    April 18, 2014
  17. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Maybe you can have a fruity drink in a week or two when it finally warms up.

    It took a $3200 root canal/ re-root-canal/ dental surgery, but after that I TOO floss every single night! I favor those little floss pick things personally.

    April 18, 2014
  18. i’m sorry i missed your birthday. i have greatly admired the glorious weather evidenced in your previous birthday photos and can only hope it’s right around the corner for you. can’t wait to see the photos of the TOMATOES!! happy birthday 😉

    April 22, 2014
  19. I also choose to have an amazing veggie garden! Go us! And happy birthday!

    April 22, 2014
  20. Happy belated birthday. I sure as hell hope the snow is gone by now!!! 😉

    April 30, 2014

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

