Skip to content

Some summer vignettes

Bun Bun running across the lawn holding handfuls of fat french breakfast radishes.

Bunlet toddling across the lawn carrying the vegetable pickin’ basket with the Very Large Lettuce in it.

Picking peas one by one as they ripen (because there will never be enough to actually make anything) and getting a pod with the same number of peas inside as there are people who need a pea to eat, over and over. To be fair, the number of people who need peas ranges from two to four–it’s not like I’m getting a pod with fifteen peas in it just as I’m having a garden party…

Sitting in the yard as a rain storm rolls in, watching my children stare up at the sky and marvel at the wind and the thunder and wonder why the fireflies have come out. Watching the babies run around in the rain shrieking with joy, while I sit safely on the porch.

It’s true that some of the time, I am panicky at how much I need to do and how little time I have in which to do it…And angry at my children all out proportion to their behavior. And irritated by my spouse, and totally uninterested in actually interacting with him. And overwhelmed by the upkeep of the same yard that yields all these fine radishes and peas. In short, my usual. But I’m trying to hold on to these little moments in the hope that they will be what stays with me. After all, I am getting pretty old now, so it’s time to start storing away the precious moments, no?

IMG_1325

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. I like this post. Reminds me of that this is what I should be doing more of…

    July 2, 2014
  2. Roccie #

    Beauty.

    July 2, 2014
  3. This is what it’s allllllll about. The blogging and the crying and all the shit. Coming up for air from the day in, day out job of parenting to be in these moments with your kids – that you have – finally. I can’t wait. I’m glad your summer has these gorgeous pauses mixed into the hard stuff.

    July 3, 2014
  4. Lovely!!!

    July 3, 2014
  5. Love these snapshots. Such a good reminder for us all. I’m trying to write down 3 things I’m grateful for each day and they tend to be little big things like this. Though of course I’m shit at remembering to do it.

    July 4, 2014
  6. CJ #

    ooooh. Fireflies! Gosh I haven’t seen those since I was younger and living in the Midwest. They are in south Louisiana! Snap a picture when you can!

    July 4, 2014
    • CJ #

      I meant they AREN”T in south Louisiana!

      July 4, 2014
  7. Awww! These moments are lovely. Glad that you are able to spot them in the midst of the chaos and muck that is life with two young kids.

    July 4, 2014
  8. twangy #

    Sounds lovely, bunny. Store it up.

    I had peas last year, which I also ate out of the pod. Only way to do it. This year, I have an impressive harvest of about 20 raspberries, ripening one by one. All the more excellent for the rarity value and to be scoffed on the hoof.

    I don’t know why I feel compelled to tell you this. But there you have it.

    July 12, 2014
  9. Sounds wonderful, bunny. Hoping there’ll be more of these moments.

    July 14, 2014
  10. Would you look at that darling child? It all sounds very Beatrix Potter over there, what with the radishes and the bunnies and the peas. (I’m assuming there’s no mad-eyed gardener’s wife putting Bunlet’s dad into a pie.)

    Hope the little moments are still crowding out the panicky bullshit.

    July 24, 2014

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

