Skip to content

Putting away childish things. On Craigslist.

A couple of weeks ago Mr. Bunny texted me during nap time.  Bunlet had just learned how to escape from his crib. There hadn’t been any warning signs so it was a surprise.* Mr Bunny asked Bun Bun (the babies share a room, so she was a witness to it all), How is Bunlet getting out of his crib?

Pretty well, she replied.

That night we took the crib down and put it on the Giant Pile of Baby Stuff that lives in the basement. The following day I craigslisted it all. Giant Pile of Free Baby Stuff, my ad said (with details about the items, of course). The catch was that anyone who wanted any of it had to take it all. I also specified that I’d give priority to people who needed it for a baby as opposed to those who just wanted to sell my fancy ass crib for a quick buck. Within half an hour I had a set of pretty depressing stories to choose from. Do I give it to the woman who is adopting her sister’s baby despite having two kids under 3 already, or the woman who used the words “desperate need”, I asked Mr. Bunny. Anyway, the following evening we loaded it all into some stranger’s car, and POOF, it was gone.

It was hardest to let the fancy ass crib go. I remember choosing it so carefully. I think for me it was a bit of a symbol… And I trusted it to keep my babies alive when they were asleep. And I remember the sense of anticipation during those winter days when it was almost the only thing in the room…

DSC_0031

And then it was reduced to this.

IMG_1495

It’s fine. It’s good, even. But a little sad.

I had a little fantasy wherein the new owner sent me a picture when the baby was born. And then laughed at myself. But picturing a happy child in it did ease the sadness.

 

 

*Though I was planning to try the floor bed again once toilet training had stabilized, which it has.

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. SRB #

    “Pretty well.” Gold. You are learning that child good.

    There’s been a slew of recent pregnancies in the close friend group (we were somehow to first, despite it all) and I have been just giving shit away. It’s kind of awesome. It makes me feel less sad, even happy, to know that it will be well loved by somebody I, well, love. Not sure what I would do with it otherwise.

    You did good, mama. Pretty well.

    November 21, 2014
    • OMG you started writing again and I didn’t KNOW. I now have something to look forward to! (It’s catching up on your posts, in case you thought it was that pudding I’ve got at home.)

      December 9, 2014
  2. “Pretty well” is a great answer. And I’m kind of proud of you for passing on the gear – though I would have had a hard time with that crib, too. But since you get to keep the most important part… the rest doesn’t really matter 🙂

    November 21, 2014
  3. This brought a mist to my eyes. I remember looking at the pictures of that crib for it’s first occupant before said occupant arrived to occupy. And I remember the tree quilt and the slipcover and the curtains. I was going through this with you in tandem as a blog reader.

    I bet you turned that expecting parents luck around. I bet they are so grateful.

    November 21, 2014
  4. Tiny Boy is still in his crib. Which he has no trouble escaping. He says maybe he would like a real bed. Mostly he means he wants to sleep in mine…

    November 22, 2014
  5. These babies just think they can up and turn into grown ups! I also just unloaded most baby items to my cousin. Not as kind hearted as you, but it makes me happy to know more babies will use our stuff.

    November 22, 2014
  6. the crib is gone! I remember shopping for cribs and thinking “Bunny got this really nice, really safe crib for Bun Bun. I should get the same one.” Except that I got the cheap ikea one instead. It’s strange, but at the same time completely fitting to think of the Bun’s room without The Crib. The buns are bigger; they both sleep in beds now.
    And yes, monumental props to you on moving forward re: having other baby bunnies or not. That was a big one, hey my friend. I’m proud of you, if I may.

    November 23, 2014
  7. What a great answer. Lovely kudos to you for passing things along. I have a cousin due with a girl in February and I have taken to dropping things off at her parents house sans asking. Sending loved objects out to those in need – a good soul cleanse.

    November 25, 2014
  8. Misfit #

    I bought the same crib on craigslist twice for one baby. And hoped for a second baby to put in that second crib. Tonight both babies are in those craigslist cribs. Sorry that this chapter just abruptly ended. Wow. Whiplash.

    One good thing is living on a busy street means I get to haul shit to the curb with free written on it and wait about 30 minutes for it to disappear.

    November 25, 2014
  9. “Pretty well”!! Ha! Brilliant. Did you work out how? One leg over, straddle uncomfortably followed by ungainly crash to floor would do it, I suppose. I would just stay in that crib, frankly.

    I love craigslist which over here is called gumtree. It’s amazing what people will come and get and their email monikers alone make it worth while.[I speak of Cuddles Teddybear, that’s right.]
    The American tradition of leaving stuff on the pavement with a note saying things like: I WORK! TAKE ME HOME is catching on a bit here too.

    November 27, 2014
  10. Andie #

    What Twangy and Steph said. I remember when you were furnishing the nursery and waiting for Bun Bun.
    xo
    A

    November 29, 2014

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

