Skip to content

The preschool bus redux

I must say, I’m glad I put off preschool for a year. Not for the sake of my children– Bunlet could profit from being around kids who aren’t all his older sibling and Bun Bun is clearly hankering for more social interaction and structured play than I typically feel like providing.

(This morning she was pretend playing with her foxes and when the baby fox asked the Mama fox to do something the Mama fox said I don’t have the energy for that. Ahem.)

No, I’m glad for my own sake. I am way saner about the whole thing this year. (See last year.) I toured the three places that are conveniently located, ruled one out because it did not meet the My child will not be sexually abused here gut reaction criterion (I’m sure the school is perfectly lovely, but it’s got all these weird shadowy Nooks of Creepiness, and smart people have told me to just go with my gut on such things), and made my pick. The selection was based on the fact that as I was sitting there during my solo observation visit, I had a strong wave of It’s just preschool, this is not a big deal. I figure that’s a good sign. The babies toured today and I think they will not be deemed too poorly socialized for acceptance. Plus, if they are, they’re not starting for a year, so I can begin drilling them immediately on the correct use of their work mats or whatever the fuck.

Last year my posts on this topic got some comments along the lines of Dude you be trippin‘. I think I have now come around to that point of view, in that I no longer be trippin’. But I also think the lack of trippin’ is due partly to thinking through my strong reactions to the whole process last year. And due partly to the fact that the babies are a year older. And once the enrollment stuff is done I can forget about it for a long time.

IMG_1516

 

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Now that Bug is in kindergarten I have Very Strong Feelings about the other children he’s around and his interactions with them and also zero control over any of this. Because there is ONE elementary school in town. Well, I could homeschool him…. HA, HA, HA, let me finish rolling around on the floor laughing.

    Anyhow, I hope your babies love their preschool as much as mine do. (Tatoe cries on the days he doesn’t have preschool, i.e. 5 of every 7 days.) Other kids! Teachers who are not also trying to grade/ do laundry/ make dinner! Lots of toys and fun activities! It’ll be great.

    December 9, 2014
  2. That Mama Fox is my kind’a lady. Who’s got the energy for ANYTHING anymore? I remember that post from a year ago. My how time just keeps going. I’m glad you’re in a place where you can sit and feel like it’s “just” preschool. Try to hold onto that. Now that we’re a few months in, I have realized that the anxiety I had about them starting preschool and are they ready and will they be safe and worry worry worry may be living with me for the next 15 years as they go through each new step and transition in their school lives. Bah.

    That picture? Joy. Love it.

    December 10, 2014
  3. twangy #

    Thank you for the photo. How very sweet it is.

    Poor Mama Fox. I recommend a nice sit down in front of the telly with a glass of wine.

    December 10, 2014
  4. I enjoy both crediting preschool for everything good that my child does and blaming preschool for everything bad that my child does ( guns and shooting, I’m looking at you). Bottom line: it’s awesome to have a place to send him where I know he is loved. You might find you meet other like-minded parents there too, though I know I know, fuck meeting people. They will do great. Love the snowy shenanigans.

    December 11, 2014
  5. Ana #

    Poor mama fox needs a glass of wine and a break. I’m glad you are feeling more at peace with the whole preschool thing. Time certainly does have a way of helping most things figure themselves out.

    December 11, 2014
  6. SRB #

    Oh Mama Fox! I hear a lot of “Do you understand me right now?” Mrrrrrrrrp.

    I remember those posts very clearly. I was feeling it aaaaaaalllllllll then. Now I’m like “IT’S TUESDAY GET IN THE CAR IT’S SCHOOL SEE YA LATER SUCKA!” But I’m a really, really, really, really good mother that way. Do you understand me right now? 😉

    December 12, 2014
  7. Steph #

    You have some super adorable kiddos. I’m glad that you are glad that you’re diggin’ preschool for next year.

    December 16, 2014
  8. Andie #

    Dear Mama Fox, you are incredible, so take one dose of Dr Twangy’s prescription, as needed.

    Love the snowbabies. 🙂

    December 16, 2014
  9. I have enjoyed the preschool bus series so very much. I’m very glad though that your stress about it has been shed, that a good (no weird gut feeling) preschool has been selected, and that the Buns will be transitioning to preschool next year.

    That picture is pure joy. I love it.

    December 17, 2014

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

