Skip to content

39 year old toes

Birthday! It’s come around once again.

DSC_0004

Now that I’m 39, I can’t be bothered to slap on a coat of $2 CVS nail polish. (Actually, I got this hippie eco nail polish and it chipped like a motherfucker so I threw it away and now have none. Whatever. I’m 39, I can live as I choose.) Check out my insanely shiny pants. Yeah. Nothing else fits anymore. But now that I see this photo I observe that the spandex look is not so good what with me not being in the middle of the Tour de France.

I don’t have to teach today so I am lazing about. I had a nice falafel and cake lunch with my spouse. Now I am trying to find something entertaining to watch on TV while someone else takes care of my children. It’s a pretty sweet deal.

Augusta sent me flowers. Aren’t they lovely?

DSC_0005

Meanwhile, I had an ultrasound on Friday. One moment I was sitting there with the theoretical knowledge that there was a fetus in my uterus, the next moment I was looking at a fetus! in my uterus! Bunter is alive, alone in there thank fucking god, and apparently healthy.

Before the scan I hoped that seeing the fetus would change my feelings, and I also feared that seeing the fetus would NOT change my feelings. It has, though. Not in any grand life is now wonderful way. But in some little way. I am thinking more about how much I will enjoy the tiny baby person and less about all that shit in my pie chart.

My mother sent me these for my birthday. I unwrapped the bunny first, and thought, Oh! what a great bunny! And then I saw that there were three.

DSC_0006

21 Comments Post a comment
  1. Happy birthday! I love these photos, and was actually thinking last week, “shouldn’t we be getting another soon!”

    Also v. glad to hear that Bunter is becoming more of a bun and less of a slice in a pie chart. Not that pie is bad, but you get more snuggles from bunnies (and babies).

    April 15, 2015
  2. I think I woke up in a good mood today because I knew the day would hold Bunny’s birthday post. Oh, and also, I was happy that it was your birthday (but let’s be honest about how this is all about me). Seriously, I was also relieved that it was a nice spring day here in Pleasantville, which meant that it also would likely be a nice day in Bunnyland (is that what you call your village?)

    Is that a little Bunter bump or just the cake? Either way, you look adorable.

    So is Bunter the dragon? Shit. I hope your mother’s not clairvoyant.

    Nice flowers.

    April 15, 2015
    • Thank you, my dear! Bunlet’s the dragon (like me!)…Bunter will be a goat/ram/sheep.

      April 15, 2015
      • Google assures me that the Goat has a gentle, calm personality. PERFECT temperament for a third child (as if I know anything about large families, or families at all). Such sweet little creatures she sent you.
        sending love.

        April 15, 2015
  3. Those are great! Are they ‘normal’ stuffed animals, or weighted, or something? I don’t know which is my favourite, they’re all so charming!

    April 15, 2015
    • They seem to be full of sawdust! They are really very pretty.

      April 15, 2015
  4. Oops! Also happy birthday and many happy returns, and so glad you had some sun to let your toes out in and enjoy your cake with (and if my legs looked that lean and strong in spandex-y pants I would be a very happy bunny…)

    April 15, 2015
  5. Happy Birthday! Love your mom’s gifts!

    April 15, 2015
  6. Ana #

    happy birthday to you and best wishes to the tiny fetus!

    April 15, 2015
  7. Well happy birthday! Yes, yay for healthy SINGLETON fetus. Wishing you well.

    April 15, 2015
  8. Happy birthday to you and your stylish pants! Those creatures really are adorable. As are your creatures, I am sure. This is one very lucky tiny little baby person.

    April 16, 2015
  9. Happiest Birthday!!

    April 16, 2015
  10. Happy birthday! These bunnies are adorable indeed. What a sweet gift. And I’m glad to hear your feelings developed in the direction you were hoping for.

    April 16, 2015
  11. Happy Birthday

    April 16, 2015
  12. Jos #

    Oooh – I always love your birthday post, and at the tender age of 33 I’ve come to a similar conclusion as you with toenail polish. WhoTF cares? 🙂

    Those stuffed animals are fan-freaking-tastic. Does your Mom know you’re pregnant yet?!

    April 16, 2015
    • Oh! I realized the animals only makes sense if I tell you guys that she knows about Bunter. Which she does.

      April 16, 2015
  13. Happy happy birthday. Sounds like you had a nice one

    April 16, 2015
  14. Happy belated Birthday! Those are such wonderful gifts, none better than the healthy singleton and the inching towards being what will surely eventually be big happiness.

    And, while I think that colorful toes are pretty fun, especially when the sun is shining, I can’t quite figure it out. A while ago when we were in one of our local hippie pharmacies, I let the boys pick out a few samples of their hippie polish thinking we would have fun painting nails together but it never ever makes it to the top of our activity list.

    April 17, 2015
  15. twangy #

    Let the toes run unvarnished! Happy birthday, bunny!

    Magnificent flowers and toys. (Am just slightly confused as to the identity of the dragon or seahorses or crocodile, and what this means to the rabbit and ram.)

    (Just me, I presume.)

    April 18, 2015
  16. Andie #

    Happy birthday, Bunny! And hurrah for a healthy baby Bunter!

    I’m with Twangy, nail polish be damned! Au naturel is all the range around here.

    To answer Twangy’s question, I thought the stuffed animals were references to the Chinese zodiac?

    April 19, 2015
  17. Happy belated birthday, sweet lady! I was thinking of you, a whole month ago, but couldn’t quite manage to be awake enough to make it here and tell you so.

    Beautiful flowers, beautiful toes and beautiful babies x 3.

    May 14, 2015

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

