Skip to content

Turns out I have the emotional sophistication of a four year old.

Bun Bun turned four yesterday. We made her a little house.

DSC_0014

It is foam core, and will definitely be destroyed soon, but check out the custom wallpaper I designed.

DSC_0019

Mr. Bunny made her a cake. I made some chocolate cream cheese frosting for it, but something horrible happened, and it turned into a species of greasy rubber. I think I overbeat the cream cheese? Anyway, I replaced it with whipped cream frosting. It looks ugly, but tasted delicious.

DSC_0045

 

Of all the many epicurean delights we’ve exposed her to, she choose spaghetti for dinner. Hell, I get that–I like spaghetti.

DSC_0053

She mostly ate cake.

Oldest Friend gave her this awesome roller coaster. Bun Bun described it as her favorite present ever. Thanks a lot for stealing the show, Oldest Friend.

DSC_0040

The roller coaster is brilliant, though.

I love her SO MUCH.

Since we’d just been talking about birth and uteruses and suchlike, this morning I told the babies about their new sibling.

Bun Bun’s response: NOOOOOO! NO THANK YOU! TWO [children in the family] IS ENOUGH!

She seemed to feel a lot better when she understood that this would not be happening for a long time.

Later she asked: Where will the baby sleep? We don’t have enough rooms.

This parallels my own reaction pretty well. NOOOOO! TWO IS ENOUGH! Where will the baby sleep? We don’t have enough rooms.

Bunlet, meanwhile, was oblivious. I asked him if he had any questions.

Bunlet: Why did you take Bun Bun’s orange juice cup away?*

 

 

 

*Because she was done with her orange juice.

 

 

 

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Awwww….happy birthday, BunBun!

    May 6, 2015
  2. Happy Birthday, beautiful girl!

    And WOW! Bunny, that little house is brilliant. I particularly love the rocket in the children’s bedroom (which I imagine the Buns love too), the custom wallpaper, and the dinner guests (including an owl, a goose, and a bunny….that, my friend, is a DINNER PARTY!)

    The birthday girl looks entirely pleased with her birthday love.

    I love how Bun Bun’s reaction mirrors your own. It speaks to the prospect of change being difficult. But then, when little Bunter is home, I bet Bun Bun will be the first to want him/her to sleep in her bed, lie on her lap, be pushed around in her stroller (or shopping cart – I was reminiscing and looked at all her birthday posts to date. I love that girl. And her mom. And her family).

    May 6, 2015
  3. SRB #

    I weirdly had a feeling her birthday was yesterday! That rollercoaster is AWESOME!!!! Our friends have one and it makes me sad that these don’t exist for adults. Backyard rollercoasters, I mean.

    That said, I much prefer the house. Feel free to ship it to me and I will knit it tiny afghans.

    Bunter has a pretty rad older sister. It is known.

    May 6, 2015
  4. Well happy birthday to Bun Bun! Four is much more pleasant than three, at least in my own personal parenting experience.

    I love that house. Love it.

    May 7, 2015
  5. I love both the house and the roller coaster!
    I think it was you who told me, years ago, that the children you’d eventually have would feel like the perfect children for you. I certainly feel that way about SB, and I hope you’ll end up feeling this way about Bunter, too. My youngest brother was a surprise, and I can’t imagine our family without him.
    Happy birthday to Bun Bun!

    May 7, 2015
  6. Steph #

    Happy birthday Bun Bun and Bunny since it was your birth day too. The roller coaster is the best most fun outdoor toy ever. I’m so glad that you all had a fun day especially with cake and spaghetti.
    Love to the Bunny Family!

    May 7, 2015
  7. Happy birthday!! Love the dollhouse and that roller coaster is rad!

    May 9, 2015
  8. What a couple of cuties. Happy 4 Bun Bun! I have a serious weakness for May babies :).

    May 12, 2015
  9. I love that little house! (I love your actual house, too, with all that grass… We have room for a roller coaster, but it would end with cracked skulls on the concrete.)

    Bun Bun is a total peach. Happy birthday, kiddo!

    May 14, 2015

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

