Skip to content

Today I…

I never write in my journal any more. I think that as the days go by and all the little and big things go unrecorded, the prospect of trying to catch up becomes offputting. Plus there’s the need to spend the two hours between baby bedtime and mama bedtime watching TV shows. (OMG, ever wondered why there was nothing to fill the hot, tormented, vicar detective niche in your life? There is now.)

So, today I…

1) Contemplated whether a card that reads Mistakes: Perhaps the purpose of your life is just to serve as a horrible warning to others was the appropriate choice to send to a friend in hospice. Decision: No.

2) Attended a dissertation proposal defense in the music department. They have a piano in the room. Just in case. That’s cool.

3) Gathered an office posey on my way to work.

IMG_1788

What did you do today?

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love your flowers, and FWIW, I think your decision in #1 was the right one.

    Best thing I’ve done today: finally got around to sending an actual handwritten note to an old friend who has lost both her father and her mother since Christmas. I’ve thought of her so often over these past months (and did send a sympathy card after each of their deaths) but never seem to get around to actually letting her know.

    May 12, 2015
  2. Today I sat in an old rocking chair with the baby while she cooed and giggled at me. And I got her to drink from a *bottle*!!!!!

    May 12, 2015
    • Nicky #

      Hooray!

      May 12, 2015
    • Brilliant. I figured if you popped by you’d said “I nursed all day and cried.”

      May 12, 2015
  3. All defense rooms should have a piano in them, “just in case”.

    Today I finished typing up comments on the 7 BA theses I’ve had to mark and assigned grades to all of them; got fetched home by a pajamed husband who’d locked himself out taking the trash out; hosted an invited speaker in the lecture series I’ve organized this year to an audience of four (4), but it was an excellent paper and discussion continued at the pub for a long time after so I hope she felt it was an afternoon/evening well spent.

    And tonight I’m trying to plow through the MA essay (thank goodness just a seminar paper, not a thesis) that also needs to be marked before the end of the week.

    May 12, 2015
  4. Nicky #

    Today I sorted the laundry, and bemoaned having to do it all myself. Usually the two boys move and sort laundry on late-start Monday before school, but we had appointments yesterday. Then I went house-hunting with a friend (for her, not me), looking for an affordable 4-BR with a 3-car garage. I do love looking through houses. I have no desire to move to such a large house (What would I even do with that room right there?), and pay $9,000/yr in taxes.

    I am also trying to recover from my eons-long cold. I may actually go see a doctor. Tomorrow.

    May 12, 2015
  5. Love the flowers!

    May 13, 2015
  6. I feel like if I were defending in that room, I’d position a friend near the piano and set up a secret signal for her to fall on to the keys if things were not going my way and I needed a moment to regroup.

    I do love hearing about other people’s days, but can never imagine that anyone might be interested in mine.

    What did I do today that was interesting – hmmm…biked to work, and watched bemusedly as all the other bikers but me deemed the 2 minute wait at the major intersection to be too long for their busy lives, darting around the cars….bought a really bad sandwich at lunch and was very disappointed…sat in my new lab and marvelled at all the space that is mine, mine, mine…bought overpriced popsicles at whole foods on the way home and ate them on the porch with the kids, laughing at Freya’s first popsicle attempts…dicked around on the internet accomplishing random email things instead of doing something meaningful with my evenings. The usual.

    May 13, 2015
  7. I like to know about your days…thank you.
    The poseys are beautiful. Lily of the valley is on my top 5 list of favourite flowers. I can almost smell them by looking at your picture.
    I am very sorry to read that your friend is in hospice. I wish them peace.

    Yesterday, I installed my new printer without the mountain of aggravation I was anticipating. I saw my family physician and then headed over to the pharmacy to get me some drugs. I had lunch, went to the gym, and picked up gummy at daycare. We got home and played with the neighbours new puppy.

    May 13, 2015
  8. SRB #

    I spent much of the day sending people MIND TEXTS and forgetting to actually send the message.Now I forgot everything.

    I also fashioned a delicious chick pea salad and remembered that I don’t like roasted beets.

    May 13, 2015
  9. Today I showered! Hooray! And washed nappies, and made biscuits to take out to visit an old friend who has a tiny baby the same age as mine. We ate lunch on her couch and fed our hungry babes and I came home to a warm house with leftovers for dinner and an evening free to catch up on The Internet.

    I know what you mean about the little things sliding out of reach and piling up so high that they float away into the wind… I feel that way, too. And then I end up smashing out as many of them as I think of when I do get a chance, which means I never really write about the bigger, deeper things…

    I do like your flowers. And pianos.

    May 14, 2015
  10. ever wondered why there was nothing to fill the hot, tormented, vicar detective niche in your life?

    This is the most hilarious sentence I have read in a while.
    And the show is great. And man, is the vicar hot! Even my (very straight) husband couldn’t help but comment.

    June 8, 2015

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

