Skip to content

Three-year-old sonlet

Bunlet turned three on Saturday. We gave him his own room. I suggested this to Mr. Bunny as a good idea for a birthday present and he very kindly got off his ass and made the last bits happen, including moving an ENTIRE SOFA down a flight of stairs BY HIMSELF and APOLOGIZING for the fact that it all took so long. So his status as best spouse I’ve ever had has been restored.*

Bunlet really likes having a space of his own that is not a guest room.

DSC_0057

My face is always a bit grey and circular before I’ve had my coffee.

 

DSC_0067

The balloon is not accurate.

 

DSC_0101

Weird art by your dead grandfather: A must for any child.

 

DSC_0070

Weird dead grandfather art: Detail.

Bunlet is a little child now–all child shaped. I worry about expecting too much of him. Because he’s close in age to Bun Bun, it’s hard to remember that he’s just barely three, and really shouldn’t be expected to show her level of emotional control or social prowess. Partly it’s hard because he does, frequently. She’s more tantrumy, he’s more likely to offer a suggestion for solving their mutual problem. Of course, he’s also more likely to hit her and to provoke her (e.g., I’m playing with the toy you like *waves it in her face*). Sometimes I find them reading** books together in a quiet spot…that’s one of my favorite things.

I worry that I worry less about him than I do about Bun Bun. I struggle not to see her through the lens of Little Me, I struggle not to project my own fears and experiences onto her. I spend more time just enjoying him, which seems unfair. Somehow. To someone. Probably to Bun Bun.

He’s very cuddly. During bedtime I lie down with them for a bit and talk and sing, and he wants to be all wrapped up and held. And his plan for when he starts school is to put all the other children and the teacher in a closet so that he and Bun Bun  can have all the activities to themselves.

So probably I don’t need to worry about him at all. I think he’s turning out reasonably well.

 

*At age six, I married my stuffed rabbit.

**”Reading” = saying the words if memorized, or making up a story otherwise.

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Happy Birthday, Bunlet!

    August 25, 2015
  2. Happy 3 little guy!

    I adore this post. This following other anonymous bloggers is really it’s own kind of relationship but I love how little bits and pieces of someone’s life reveal themselves slowly. You look great. I had to check over on Bunter’s page for evidence of this pregnancy because you really can’t tell from the pic (I’m convinced).

    And that room looks awesome. I especially appreciate the painting. Is it your father’s? It certainly looks like it should have been painted in this town. If only he were still here. Mr D would stand a much better chance of having a playdate with his fellow (newly-minted) 3yo.

    August 26, 2015
    • Yep, that’s my dad’s work! A lot of his work combined surrealist traditions with a sort of pantheistic or pagan flavor.

      August 27, 2015
  3. Happy birthday, lil’ Bunlet who is not so lil’ anymore!
    I have the exactly same problem with Stevie, he is frequently keeping up with his five-year old brother, that I often forget he is only three years old himself. And that he is not his brother, and he’s got his own personality, dreams and fears, skills and weak points. I try to remember, and when I do, and react promptly, he tells me I am weird… 😏
    Hope you’re well, dear. I think of you often. And send you all my best.

    August 26, 2015
  4. Aw. He sounds like a wonderful boy. Happy birthday! And the dead grandfather art is weird but fascinating.

    August 26, 2015
  5. Andie #

    Happy birthday, Bunlet! My, I can’t believe he’s three already. Beautiful bedroom.
    Thinking of you, xo.

    August 26, 2015
  6. Happy birthday cutest little child! Thanks for the glimpse into the room. I’m digging the rug. Also: totally drooling over the BARE shelf. It is bare! So bare! Fuck yes!

    August 27, 2015
  7. I love that painting!

    August 27, 2015
  8. Kudos to Mr. Bunny! (exaggerates eye roll for Bunny’s benefit – FINALLY). Really glad that happened in time for sweet Bunlet’s birthday. I love that boy (and his sister and parents). It baffles me a little that when I met him, he was just about to turn one and now he’s three. Time. It flies.
    I think dead grandfather art is the best kind, and that piece is particularly enthralling. I think it’s so fitting that it would be in his room.
    Bunlet’s school plan enchant me. I think that stuffing all the strangers in a closet and enjoying the premises and equipment preschool has to offer with his sister is the hallmark of sibling love. How incredibly sweet.

    August 31, 2015
  9. Steph #

    I’m shocked at the rapid vaporization of time. He’s 3! Happy Birthday baby Bunlet! I love your cool new digs. Very bright and happy. And your grandfathers cool painting would make a super neat tattoo. Sort of like an “I Spy” of woodland creatures. Pretty neat. So is your mama!

    August 31, 2015
  10. Three! How on earth did that happen? I remember it being such a long time between when Gwen was born and when Bunlet arrived — at it was, 9 months is an eternity when a baby is involved — so I still can’t get over how close in age they are.

    Love that tree painting.

    September 1, 2015
  11. SRB #

    Gosh this is belated. Dear Bunlet, please excuse me being a TERRIBLE friend to your mother and know that I wish you the happiest of birthdays. Though I refuse to believe you are THREE because just yesterday I saw a post called “Bunlet is a Sonlet!” and so, you are only one day old. And a mighty fine fellow at that. Seriously, you seem cool and I would like to have a drink with you someday. XOXO

    September 5, 2015

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

