Skip to content

Presenting…Bunter on the Outside!

Bunter was born according to plan on Monday. Rather than an unflappable gentleman’s gentleman, it turns out my uterus was hosting an amazing little she baby.

DSC_0054

We are both doing quite well–so well, in fact, that we were released from the hospital a day early. (Perhaps they got tired of me advocating for myself [read: telling every person who came into the room to fuck the fuck off and let us sleep].)  Since then I’ve been happily cocooned with my infant daughter, doing laundry, eating a great deal, lashing out at my spouse, staring at my baby, taking a thousand years to complete simple tasks, all behaviors that that are strikingly familiar!

The babies have been delightfully charmed by and curious about their new sibling.

DSC_0035

Bunlet said, “I love you, Bunter!” and kissed her head. It’s like Hallmark came in and staged this shit.

DSC_0070

Bun Bun has always wanted a bunk bed.

I am a middle girl, and it was always a source of comfort to me that even though there were lots of other children lying around, I was the only girl. I am glad that Bunlet is a middle boy. I am glad that Bun Bun is my precious eldest daughter. And ever so glad that this dear, dear creature–this little morsel of perfection who came despite my plans–is my babiest bunny.

DSC_0056

31 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yay! My gender intuition was wrong, but that’s an awful cute baby girl, congratulations.

    October 23, 2015
  2. Aw, she is adorable! Congratulations bunny! And the babies are extremely cute, too. Happy cocooning!

    October 23, 2015
  3. Congratulations! I’m fairly new to reading your blog (a few months, but time flies!) and am enjoying your observations and humor. Your family is beautiful and your new baby bunny is sweet and perfect. So the doctors were just completely wrong on gender? amazing!

    October 23, 2015
  4. What lovely dark hair on your girl!! Congratulations, Bunny.

    October 23, 2015
  5. CJ #

    Awwwww. Congrats!! Love!!!

    October 23, 2015
  6. Ohhhh congratulations!!!! Welcome welcome beautiful bunter (buntress?). I’m so happy to hear that it went so smoothly and excited to “meet” her. I’m going to guess that you will be marveling for years at your luck.

    I love that sister pic!

    October 23, 2015
  7. Well! That sounds SURPRISING! This baby is one big surprise. Also the baby bunny blankie is the cutest of all wee blankies.

    October 23, 2015
  8. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww! Congratulations!

    October 23, 2015
  9. sangela71 #

    Adorable! Congratulations. So sweet that your other children are loving their sister. 🙂

    October 23, 2015
  10. Martha #

    Adorable baby!! Congratulations to all of you!

    October 23, 2015
  11. Hooray! She’s beautiful! Welcome, baby Bunter! The pics of the big kids are adorable, too.

    October 23, 2015
  12. Had you been told she was a he, or was that simply your intuition? My surprise was a girl as well, and I would have bet my life on another boy. Congratulations! She’s beautiful.

    October 23, 2015
  13. Many many happy congratulations!!

    October 23, 2015
  14. Awww! Congrats

    October 23, 2015
  15. So lovely!! Really happy to hear that all went peacefully! Yay!

    October 24, 2015
  16. Steph #

    Happy homecoming Bunter! Congratulations on such a beautiful addition to your bunny family. I am partial to your bunk bed and am glad it’s working out. So much love to you guys.

    October 24, 2015
  17. Andie #

    Congratulations Bunny and all the Bun family! Welcome, most adorable Bunter.

    October 24, 2015
  18. Steph #

    Also, look at all of that hair! I need a data point for my heartburn during pregnancy research. She’s beautiful Bunny.

    October 24, 2015
  19. Oh, but she is incredibly precious, your babiest bunny. These images filled my heart to the brim. I have been thinking of all of you all week, and was looking forward to Friday (or Saturday, or whenever you could manage) to read the Bunter introduction post. It was initial thought that your third child would be a girl, although I had since layered it with thoughts of Bunter being a boy.
    She is beautiful and perfect. Well done, mama.
    Sending all kinds of love to the Bunny family, and to the strong, brave, resilient, immensely loving mama Bunny.

    October 24, 2015
  20. That’s truly wonderful! Many congratulations to all the bunnies. Bunter is beautiful.

    (The big ones suddenly look like enormous giants. That’s a thing that happens, isn’t it.)

    October 24, 2015
  21. Oh so very much love coming from me to all of you!!!!!!

    More !!!!!!!

    October 25, 2015
  22. Jos #

    Awh, congratulations! So wonderful 🙂

    October 25, 2015
  23. Beautiful! Congratulations.

    October 26, 2015
  24. Just about the best news to come back to after a weekend away! Oh, is she beautiful. And that picture of the three of your little Buns altogether, oh so sweet.

    It sounds like you’ve already found that there’s no way your life could’ve been your life without this one in it. I wish you all health and happiness for the future!

    October 27, 2015
  25. Sheryl #

    Congrats!! 🙂

    October 27, 2015
  26. Just tuning in now. So, so glad. What a lovely little Bunter she is. And already defying expectation. (And so much hair!)

    Congrats, mummy. May you be able to cocoon long and hard. xoxo

    October 28, 2015
  27. SRB #

    Hello, teeny acorn! I need to feel your face on my face. Love you soooooooo much, Bunter! And Bunny, and Bun Bun, and Bunlet and Mr. Bunny, obvs. But mostly you the most. ❤

    October 28, 2015
  28. My most heartfelt congratulations, dear Bunny! You managed to produce another perfect miracle. Welcome, little lady! Happy birthday!

    October 29, 2015
  29. Look at that hair! So lovely….makes me want oodles of more babies!!

    October 29, 2015
  30. OMG, how did I miss this?! Congratulations! Best wishes to your lovely family. Three kids is a blast!

    November 3, 2015

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

