Skip to content

Halloween with ALL the babies

For several years now, every time Bun Bun has requested a story it’s had to include 1) bunnies 2) ice cream, and 3) swimming pools. My desire and ability to create an engaging narrative out of this meager stuff has waned, I tell you what. Fortunately, when Bunlet became old enough to request stories he insisted that all stories include construction equipment. This has opened up some new avenues of inspiration, such as the bunnies who make blackberry ice cream to repay their skunk neighbor for the use of his concrete mixer, obviously essential when building a swimming pool. So it should come as no surprise that when asked what they wanted to be for Halloween, both babies said, construction bunnies. Hallelujah. Easy to make! Adorable!

hall2 copy

They were SO excited about trick or treating. Bun Bun burst into tears several times because it wasn’t time yet. And when Giant Snake came down from the studio, she shrieked with joy. GIANT SNAKE! she cried. They helped us set up the decorations, and then set off. Bunter got to go with them in her newborn-appropriate costume, and from what Mr. Bunny said (I stayed home to hand out candy), she was much admired.

hall3

Bun Bun insisted on wearing her hat backwards.

And later she got to meet Giant Snake (it’s tradition).

DSC_0042 (1)

And have some Halloween candy breastmilk. I love Halloween!

Today I am having a day off from childcare–except for the baby that needs to be fed every couple of hours. It’s a much needed break since I have been caring for between one and three children for two weeks now. Mr. Bunny goes back to work tomorrow, and my latest version of maternity leave begins… I have lots of THOUGHTS and FEELINGS about that… But right now I need to watch trashy TV.

 

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Steph #

    Bunny, this is one of my favorite bunny posts! I love it all. And have always been jealous of the snake and inspired to make my own now. The construction bunny costumes are the best ever! That should become a picture book. Love it and you! Congratulations on outfitting and decorating three children, self and spouse. I’m in Awe.

    November 2, 2015
  2. I don’t think I could love this anymore if I tried. I hope your day off was filled with many Real Housewives or HGTV orange-hued real estate agents.

    November 3, 2015
  3. I want to come celebrate Halloween with all of the bunnies (and the giant snake!!!!!). The costumes are wonderful (yours always are). Could those little tails be any cuter?

    November 3, 2015
  4. Giant Snake is simply amazing, and your bunnies are so lucky to have it as part of their lives!

    (And those two little rabbit ears sticking out of the carrier? Are just about the cutest thing ever, and ALMOST (almost) make me wish I had someone to wear them. But only almost.)

    November 4, 2015
  5. Oh. It’s GIANT SNAKE! Hello giant snake. Please don’t eat Bunter. She’s just so tiny and sweet (and I know, delicious, but that doesn’t mean you should eat her).

    November 5, 2015
  6. Construction bunnies. Adorbs.
    I want to read about ALL the thoughts and feelings.

    November 5, 2015

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

