Skip to content

Revenge of the spurned ovaries

Another super short luteal phase, another yeast infection. It’s only the third yeast infection of my entire life, and I tell you what, THIS SUCKS. I am trying the yogurt approach. Has anyone had success with this? Should I be going to the drug store instead of wasting time basting my nethers with with dairy products?

Anyway, at least I know why it’s all happening. My ovaries are pissed about the tubal ligation. There they are, happily preparing top notch oocytes and sending them off…And they’re going nowhere. I mean, they’re going somewhere, but then they’re just drifting off into an abyss. Imagine how you’d feel if you did brilliant work and watched someone just through it away? Wouldn’t you want to take revenge? So they’re clearly orchestrating this endless assault to my lady parts.

Time to start googling how + appease + angry ovaries, right?

 

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Socal dendrite #

    Go to the drug store: Monistat works quickly and well for me. Hope you feel better soon!

    May 9, 2016
  2. I have had moderate success with – ahem!- of probiotic powder. Have never tried yogurt (dairy allergy = NOOOOO) but the bacterial count seems too low really. Also, TMI, my period just came back b/C weaning and I promptly got a yeast infection.

    May 10, 2016
  3. After dealing with chronic yeast infections while trying to conceive (because turns out, vaginas don’t like tons of preseed and sex, what vaginas like is to be left the fuck alone most of the time) I earnestly advise you to skip the hippie remedies and go for the drugs. I tried yogurt, I tried probiotics both orally and the “other” way, it only lead to frustration. I will tell you that what finally worked to knock them out for good was making boric acid suppositories, which I guess is kind of a hybrid of hippie remedy and modern science, seeing as how it is a chemical. I read about it on the internet, but that wasn’t enough to convince me to put POISON in my vag, I am not a total idiot. Then my awesome NP recommended it and I figured at least now I’d have someone to blame when I showed up at the ER with genital poisoning. Wonder of wonders, I haven’t had one since. Go for the Monistat (don’t be tempted by the 1 or 3 day options, do the full 7 miserable days), but if it comes back again in the near future, the boric acid is a good bet.

    May 10, 2016
    • So funny, especially the part where vaginas like to be left alone. I know mine does. Also, Hi, I have GENITAL POISONING.

      I had access to yogurt yesterday and no possibility of going to the drugstore (can you really not leave your children alone in the house? Really? Even if your nethers are BURNING UP?), but by morning I was screaming for the monistat. However, I’d also read about the boric acid thing. I happen to have a big box of it for killing ants. So maybe at least I won’t get ants in my vagina?

      May 10, 2016
  4. Probiotics. Lotsa, lotsa.

    May 10, 2016
  5. Steph #

    I have done the yogurt before…and sadly I couldn’t take the burn long enough to see if it would actually work. I ended up just calling the OB who did my tubal (because I had the same timing as yours to this) and he just called in a rx (starts with a D and ends with an) that worked wonderfully fast and it’s never come back or caused any problems. I’d recommend that route before the OTC stuff that can take days to start working IMO. They will eventually get the message though sometimes mine still get pissed too and it’s been 2.5 years I will say I haven’t had one since. Good luck with this sister.

    May 12, 2016
    • AH HA! Further evidence that angry ovaries are the cause!

      May 12, 2016
  6. Poor you. Success on any front since? I haven’t suffered for an age, but I think the yogurt helped at least once. Also, not eating too much sugar, if I remember. But yes, not for an age. Must be doing something right. (Kale?)

    May 13, 2016

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

