Skip to content

What to do with this orphan?

Summer can’t really be over as long as there are this many tomatoes and this much corn. I made this risotto and it was amazing. (Skip the cream, I say. Not needed). I made this pasta and it was amazing. But then the other night the doorbell rang and when I went to answer it, there was no one there. Just a little basket with something small wrapped in a hand-knit blanket, and a note. I’m sorry, I can’t give it a good home. Please take care of it.

A spaghetti squash.

Is there any way to make a spaghetti squash taste good? If you tell me to stuff it, or to make it into pasta by cutting it into thin strands, I will be like, okay…our tastes do not mesh. But now that I’ve gone and anthropomorphized it (entirely fictional, in case you wondered…though it would be a funny way to get rid of produce. Particularly if you did it at, like, a fire station or hospital. Or is this just making a joke of something really tragic? Well, that’s how I roll.) I am not sure I can just pitch it in the compost heap and let the squirrels eviscerate it.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Megan #

    I roast it (halved and cleaned, s&p, olive oil, 350) until you can pull it out with a fork, then I make a sort of lasagna with it, starting with a cup of rice on the bottom of the pan then layering the squash with good jarred sauce, other veggies (onions are good), and either tofu or cheese. Throw it in the freezer until a very busy day, and that morning, put it in the oven with the timer set so that it will bake at 375 for about 75-90 minutes (bake until the rice isn’t crunchy). Easy, the kid loves it, a complete meal sans gluten and potentially vegan.

    September 1, 2016
  2. Nicky #

    I just received an orphan spaghetti squash as well, sans basket and blanket. I roasted it last night per the instructions above, and just ate it with butter and salt alongside lasagna. I didn’t pretend it was pasta, just strings of squash. The children complained it was “too sweet.” They’re weird and don’t like squash. I blame their father 😉

    September 1, 2016
  3. The texture weirds me out and I refuse to eat it. I’m sure the squirrels would enjoy it!

    September 2, 2016
  4. SRB #

    Wrapped in a HAND KNIT blanket? That, madam, is a squash from the heavens. A unicorn squash. You simply must eat with All The Butter. And a delightful spice/herb mixture called Za’tar. http://www.silkroadspices.ca/products/zaatar-seasoning

    September 7, 2016
  5. Steph #

    Someone must know you’re a softie for veggies especially those wrapped in blankets left on door steps. I’m sure you did it justice. I have two on my countertop that I’ve been staring at since A picked them out at farmshare. Hrm. Let the masses know what you ended up doing with it. I wonder if it’s roasted up would it puree well into a soup? I’ll research that.

    September 8, 2016
  6. Megan’s recipe sounds wonderful. Let us know what you end up doing with it!

    September 9, 2016
  7. I purchased some corn on the cob last week when I first read this, all full of good intentions. (What IS this? asked the assistant when they wouldn’t scan at the checkout.)
    Last night I boiled it in a moment of desperation for lack of an alternative. Maybe I could make the pasta dish? Also I have no idea why I’m boring you with this. Sorry.
    Unsurprisingly I have no bright ideas about what to do with the orphan. More apologies.

    September 13, 2016

Comment. Do it. Comments are moderated, so might take a while to show up.

